Questions about Wine on Linux
jackerbes
Level 2
Level 2

Remove Irfanview Application from Wine

Post by jackerbes »

I am a Linux newbie...

I am running Mint 17.2 64-bit.

I had the Irfanview Windows application installed and working under Wine and did that following the steps here which I have used successfully on several Mint Linux installs:

http://www.boekhoff.info/?pid=linux&tip ... w-on-linux

The only problem I had with this install was that there were about six icons visible for different parts of Irfanview when I looked at the Wine Menu. There were icons for Irfanview, the Irfanview plugins, for the read-me files for both of those, and for the Irfanview languages options. But the install was working and I had an Irfanview icon the desktop.

I assumed that those had resulted from one of the options I had checked for start up icons and shortcuts as the Irfanview setup was run under Wine.

I right clicked each of the unwanted items listed on the Wine menu and Uninstalled them, at the end of each install I click Yes to a question about a short cut.

After that, when I right clicked on the iview442_setup.exe download and chose open with Wine Windows Program Loader I see a "busy" mouse cursor for about 10-15 seconds or so but I do not wind up with any new install of Irfanview.

When that happened I went to my /home/jack/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86) folder and deleted the Irfanview folder. Then I re-copied the Windows install back to the Program Files (x86) folder again, and copied the mfc42.dll file to the /home/jack/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32 again, and have tried to install Irfanview again several times. But I always get the busy cursor for a while and no apparent results.

I have logged out and back on and also restarted the computer and nothing has changed.

I think I need to find and remove all traces of the Irfanview install and start from scratch again but don't know where those other bits and pieces might be.