Media Console "serious problem" so I can't play audio

Questions about Wine on Linux
kauri
Level 2
Level 2

Media Console "serious problem" so I can't play audio

Post by kauri »

Hi,
I get an error message when I try to play content I've downloaded via Overdrive (a program for accessing library digital media).

"The program MediaConsole.exe has encountered a serious problem and needs to close... This can be cause by a problem in the program or a deficiency in Wine..."

I've attached a file with the full error details in it. I've tried changing the XP version under Wine configure but it hasn't made any difference.

I'm new to Wine and have a very limited IT ability. (New to Linux last year.) I used PlayOnLinux to install windows media 10, which is required to get the DRM to get Overdrive to work. This took several goes but seems to work fine now, so I'm not keen to uninstall it.

System details:
Wine 1.7.38 (this is the most recent one I seem to be able to install successfully)
Ubuntu XFCE interface
Latitude Dell 620M

Some of the error details (I'm unable to attach the whole file as a new member here and I don't know what part if most useful...)
"System information:
Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0xfff4f2e8 in 32-bit code (0xfff4f2e8).
Register dump:
CS:0073 SS:007b DS:007b ES:007b FS:0033 GS:003b
EIP:fff4f2e8 ESP:0033ead4 EBP:0033eb6c EFLAGS:00210206( R- -- I - -P- )
EAX:0033ebd0 EBX:00000000 ECX:00425db1 EDX:0033eb28
ESI:0033eb38 EDI:00000000
Stack dump:
0x0033ead4: 7c257062 0033ebd0 00000038 7c259c4c
0x0033eae4: 00000000 00000002 0033eb28 0033eb38
0x0033eaf4: 0033eb08 0033eb48 00649328 00649328
0x0033eb04: 00425f20 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x0033eb14: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x0033eb24: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Backtrace:
=>0 0xfff4f2e8 (0x0033eb6c)
Wine build: wine-1.7.38
Platform: i386
Host system: Linux
Host version: 3.13.0-49-generic"

Thank you for any help
dimesio