Installed exe but cannot run

Questions about Wine on Linux
tenlbham

Installed exe but cannot run

Post by tenlbham »

Hello all, I just installed Zorin OS on an old laptop that was running Vista and I'm fairly new to Linux, Wine, etc. I'm trying to install an executable, Xedit.exe from http://digitech.com/en-US/softwares/x-edit-v270-windows

I downloaded it and did a right-click on the intallation file and selected "Open with Wine Windows Program Loader" and it ran through the installation sequence. I can see the installed files in Home/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/DigiTech/X-Edit, including the application exe file, but when I click on it, I get a spinning wheel icon for several seconds and then nothing happens.

The application is not showing up in the Wine / Programs menu. I thought I was following the user guides and instructions properly but I feel like since I'm new to all of this, there's something I'm missing. Can anyone please help?

Thanks!
olivierfrdierick
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Installed exe but cannot run

Post by olivierfrdierick »

Does launching from the command line makes any difference?

FAQ: 6.4. How should I start Windows programs from the command line?
tenlbham

Post by tenlbham »

I did try to run from the command line. That didn't work so I tried reinstalling, this time by running the install exe from the command line, it said it completed the install, and again when I try to run nothing happens. When I run the app exe from the command line, there is a lot of messages starting out with:
fixme:wincodecs:PngDecoder_Block_GetCount .....
and several error messages:
err:ole:CoInitializeEx Attempt to change threading model of this apartment from multi-threaded to apartment threaded
I added a screen capture of the terminal window dialog. Not sure how much this helps but I'm at a loss for now.

Thanks
Attachments
Xedit_install_terminal.png
olivierfrdierick
Level 5
Level 5