WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 21 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:17 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 4:31 am
Posts: 1
A relative of mine has just installed Ubuntu 14.04 and the default Wine version from the repository (wine 1:1.6.2-0ubuntu4). He then installed on it a certain software from a CD (by right-clicking the "setup.exe" in the CD and choosing "Open with Wine"). The problem is that the software is in Hebrew, and instead of the Hebrew letters he sees just blank lines.

What should he do in order to solve the problem? Please note that he has only 1 day of experience with Linux, so, instructions not using terminal will be great (I have a bit more experience, but I don't have access to his computer).


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
What is his system locale, and does he have any Hebrew fonts installed?

If his system locale is not he_IL, he needs to start the program with LANG=he_IL.UTF-8 at the beginning of the command line. That variable can be added to the command in menu/desktop links so he doesn't have to run it from the command line every time. He may also need to install a font with Hebrew glyphs.

One thing he should be aware of is that there are several bugs in Wine pertaining to Hebrew fonts, so it still may not display correctly. https://bugs.winehq.org/buglist.cgi?bug ... ordssubstr


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 5:11 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
How do I get a specific windows Hebrew program to run in Wine (it currently displays only squares and lines
I live in Israel, but my system language is English


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 5:16 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
To dimesio - you wrote:
If his system locale is not he_IL, he needs to start the program with LANG=he_IL.UTF-8 at the beginning of the command line. That variable can be added to the command in menu/desktop links so he doesn't have to run it from the command line every time. He may also need to install a font with Hebrew glyphs.
can you please explain what the full text of the cmmand line is and how to install the fonts

Thanks


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:02 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
Example syntax:
Code:
LANG=he_IL wine start /unix /path/to/program.exe

substitute the actual path to the executable for "/path/to/program.exe" in the line above.

How to install fonts is not a Wine question. Ask your distro.


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:57 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
Thanks demisio for your quick help

when i try to to do what you said i get this error:

fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100
Application could not be started, or no application associated with the specified file.
ShellExecuteEx failed: Success.

yehoshua@yehoshua-Lenovo-G500:/var/lib/apt$ LANG=he_IL wine start /unix /path/to/program.exe/home/yehoshua/Desktop.exe
fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100
Application could not be started, or no application associated with the specified file.
ShellExecuteEx failed: Success.

yehoshua@yehoshua-Lenovo-G500:/var/lib/apt$ LANG=he_IL wine start /unix /home/yehoshua/Desktop.exe
fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:10 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
i realized that i did not put in the name of the file - but i tried now and still failed - perhaps i am choosing too much or too little of this data i see in the properties under "Command"

env WINEPREFIX="/home/yehoshua/.wine" wine C:\\DBS\\TaklitorTorani.Exe


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2015 10:59 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#run_from_terminal


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
Thank you Dimesio for the link - but unfortunately it does not work for me. I tried searching in forums for related info, and found some.
I really tried hard to figure out the code to type in the terminal but i have not been successful. Some put the location in quotes others not, some have the slashes like / others \ other s seems to have a double \\
I dont know if to include C: at the beginning if it is on the desktop -
the Command in file Manager is {env WINEPREFIX="/home/yehoshua/.wine" wine C:\\DBS\\TaklitorTorani.Exe} and the location is { /home/yehoshua/Desktop}
I am running out of guesses and permutations and would be extremely appreciative if you could figure out the precise command that i need to put into the terminal to get the ball rolling.

gratefully, desperately,
Yehoshua


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 5:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
Yeah, the wiki's been down all day.

There are multiple ways to run apps from a terminal, some using Windows-style paths and others unix-style. Probably the easiest is to simply cd to the directory containing the executable and run it with wine and the program name, e.g.
Code:
cd /home/yehoshua/.wine/drive_c/DBS
LANG=he_IL wine TaklitorTorani.Exe

In this case the WINEPREFIX doesn't need to be specified because it is the default one, ~/.wine.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 6:48 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
Thank you again Dimesio,

I think we are almost there -
the code seems right but there seems to be another problem with timezones which i looked around on this and other sites how to fix, but no luck yet.
Here is the error i get:

fixme:ntdll:find_reg_tz_info Can't find matching timezone information in the registry for bias -120, std (d/m/y): 25/10/2015, dlt (d/m/y): 27/03/2015

Thanks again for your kindness,
be well,
Yehoshua


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2015 8:06 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
That looks like https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=36966. According to the last comment in the bug report, it should have been fixed a couple of months ago, but no one has verified that.

You didn't mention what Wine version you're using. If it's not the latest development release, upgrade.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:29 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
I reinstalled wine just last week - my version is wine1.6 1:1.6.2-0ubuntu4

I see that there may be an issue with my time zone - is thre a work around?
The url you mentioned led me to a site which may offer a patch - but i cannot decipher the content - here is data from that page:

author Sebastian Lackner <sebastian@fds-team.de>
Wed, 29 Apr 2015 17:30:09 +0000 (19:30 +0200)
committer Alexandre Julliard <julliard@winehq.org>
Thu, 30 Apr 2015 07:18:32 +0000 (16:18 +0900)
commit 8319445933fa149b6874420786f638732ef35699
tree 743fd1e0a55587936527e53b70dd4af23f8086f1 tree | snapshot
parent b14b646ef62acf82ba9d415829bf85c128b0278b commit | diff
wine.inf: Add timezone information for Europe/{Kaliningrad, Istanbul}.

Eagerly awaiting some direction - (does Play on linux or some other alternative offer more hope?)
Yehoshua


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:05 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
Hello again (Rosanne?) Dimesio,

I see that there is a newer version of wine - although the Software center doesnt offer it so i installed it and now have 1.7.44-
And now when i cut &paste what you wrote above, this is what i get: (and the pgm opens up but displays messed up characters)

yehoshua@yehoshua-Lenovo-G500:~$ cd /home/yehoshua/.wine/drive_c/DBS
yehoshua@yehoshua-Lenovo-G500:~/.wine/drive_c/DBS$ LANG=he_IL wine TaklitorTorani.Exe
fixme:ole:RemUnknown_QueryInterface No interface for iid {00000019-0000-0000-c000-000000000046}
yehoshua@yehoshua-Lenovo-G500:~/.wine/drive_c/DBS$

Take care,
Yehoshua


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:14 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
The patch in bug 36966 is already part of Wine, and since your program now opens, it apparently fixes the timezone issue.

As for the messed up characters, Wine has a lot of issues with Hebrew. One problem is https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=23537, so try installing winetricks tahoma.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:31 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
I am glad to hear that one issue Timezones is taken care of.
I installed tahoma32.exe - is that what you mean? B/c it still doesnt work - i saw some posts complaining about Tahoma - and preferring other fonts like Times new ROman - how do i set fonts?
I apologize for being so ignorant - my journey into linux has been a most humbling experience
Yehoshua


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:26 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
You could try winetricks corefonts.

Beyond that, Wine has many known problems displaying Hebrew: https://bugs.winehq.org/buglist.cgi?bug ... ordssubstr

If your problem doesn't match an existing bug, file a new one


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:23 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
You could try winetricks corefonts.
- how do i do that ? I opened winetricks but didn't see it in the menu.


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
Do it from the command line.
Code:
winetricks corefonts


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:21 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:41 am
Posts: 12
It says corefonts already installed - do i have to open them or move them to a specific location?


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:51 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12618
Fonts should be in the wineprefix's /windows/Fonts directory. If winetricks detects them, then they probably are there already.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 21 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: