Questions about Wine on Linux
mohican
Level 2
Level 2

On Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits : stack overflow

Post by mohican »

Hi,
I have little experience with Wine.
I use it to run two old applications I made on Windows98.

With WINE 1.4 installed on Ubuntu 11.10 32 bits, they both run fine.
On my new install of Ubuntu 12.10 64 bits, with the same settings, one of them won't run.

First I installed WINE 1.5.3 from the Wine ppa. Then I uninstalled it and installed WINE 1.4 from the Ubuntu repositories.

In both cases, I have the following error message (when lauching from a terminal) :
"err:seh:setup_exception_record stack overflow 996 bytes in thread 0009 eip 7bc3e41f esp 00230f4c stack 0x230000-0x231000-0x330000"
(numbers may vary).

Do you have any idea about this kind of error ?

Could it be related to running Wine on a 64 bits OS ?

Thank you.
jjmckenzie

On Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits : stack overflow

Post by jjmckenzie »

On Wed, May 2, 2012 at 12:40 PM, mohican <[email protected]> wrote:
Hi,
I have little experience with Wine.
I use it to run two old applications I made on Windows98.

With WINE 1.4 installed on Ubuntu 11.10 32 bits, they both run fine.
On my new install of Ubuntu 12.10 64 bits, with the same settings, one of them won't run.

First I installed WINE 1.5.3 from the Wine ppa. Then I uninstalled it and installed WINE 1.4 from the Ubuntu repositories.

In both cases, I have the following error message (when lauching from a terminal) :
"err:seh:setup_exception_record stack overflow 996 bytes in thread 0009 eip 7bc3e41f esp 00230f4c stack 0x230000-0x231000-0x330000"
(numbers may vary).
Use a 32 bit Wine prefix for Windows98 programs. By default, 64 bit
Wine will create a 64 bit Wine prefix.

James
mohican
Level 2
Level 2

Post by mohican »

Thanks for replying.

In the config of Wine I included my .exe and set them to run on Windows98.
I did this on all versions I tested.

Is there anything else to do on the 64 bits version ?