lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Questions about Wine on Linux
Locked
tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:54 am

Pre wine version 1.2.26 sound worked fine in lotro and the in game audio
options page showed the sound card in a dropdown box and titles for all
of the sound option slide bars.

In 1.3.26 and now 1.3.27 there is no sound in game and the audio options
window does not show any sound card or titles for the sound options or
various volume slider bars and all of the bars are set at minimum. The
bars can be raised but doing so does not change anything.

wine version 1.3.27 install from openSuse 11.4 repos
winecfg audio tab settings: alsa driver, hardware acceleration = full
(tried on emulation as well with, no change to sound.), default sample
rate = 44100, default bits per sample = 16.

hitting the 'test sound' button on the winecfg audio tab plays sound in
both full and emulation hardware acceleration options but does give the
error:

fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on HDA NVidia,
disabling mixer
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 10000
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 10000
channels, pretending there's only 2 channels

I'm not sure how to tell if those are ignorable fixmes or are part of
the problem.

I have checked through my graphic software management tool (yast) and
could not find any parts of pulseaudio installed and I also checked by
command line to remove anything pulse*.* and pavu*.* so I do not think
there is a pulseaudio conflict lurking on the system. The machine is KDE
by default and I have tried to keep it gnome free to avoid conflicts.

Google searching showed a similar issue on the game forum which was
fixed in windows by renaming the "userpreferences.ini" file found in "my
documents" -> "the lord of the rings online" folder and restarting the
game so a new .ini was created. Doing so did not change anything for me.

A page on the Codeweavers site says for their set up using alsa and no
pulse should work fine, but I do not know how well that applies to wine
(http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibilit ... 869;tips=1) (in
the FAQ section of the page under 'lotro has no sound (linux)).

Does anyone have ideas of where or what else I can check, change or test?

User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12844
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Re: lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by dimesio » Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:35 pm

tparker wrote:Does anyone have ideas of where or what else I can check, change or test?
Post terminal output from running the game.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:07 am

On 09/06/2011 03:35 PM, dimesio wrote:
Post terminal output from running the game.
output from starting pylotro:

wine: Unhandled page fault on write access to 0x00000004 at address
0x7eccb482 (thread 0019), starting debugger...
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP ntlm_auth was not found or is outdated. Make
sure that ntlm_auth >= 3.0.25 is in your path.
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP Usually, you can find it in the winbind
package of your distribution.
fixme:system:SetProcessDPIAware stub!
err:module:import_dll Library QtSvg4.dll (which is needed by
L"C:\\Program Files\\PyLotRO\\qt4_plugins\\iconengines\\qsvgicon4.dll")
not found
err:module:import_dll Library QtSvg4.dll (which is needed by
L"C:\\Program Files\\PyLotRO\\qt4_plugins\\imageformats\\qsvg4.dll") not
found
err:module:import_dll Library QtSvg4.dll (which is needed by
L"C:\\Program Files\\PyLotRO\\qt4_plugins\\iconengines\\qsvgicon4.dll")
not found
err:module:import_dll Library QtSvg4.dll (which is needed by
L"C:\\Program Files\\PyLotRO\\qt4_plugins\\iconengines\\qsvgicon4.dll")
not found
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32e64c
fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (0x10064, (nil)): stub


further output after log in and game start:

fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32c5ac
fixme:toolhelp:CreateToolhelp32Snapshot Unimplemented: heap list snapshot
fixme:toolhelp:Heap32ListFirst : stub
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32aca4
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x327e1c
fixme:imm:NotifyIME IMC_SETCANDIDATEPOS
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32aa34

There was no further output on either game exit or pylotro window closure.

I don't see anything in there that looks to be sound related, but I'm
not sure what I am looking for so maybe I am missing something.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:47 am

On 09/08/2011 11:39 AM, James McKenzie wrote:
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP Usually, you can find it in the winbind package
of your distribution.
Fix this first, it may be causing many problems.
I checked and I have the winbind package from my distro (openSuse 11.4)
installed. I will do more searching and see if the I can find
information verifying that that package includes ntlmsp and what version
it is.
QT errors?
There are a couple of loading screens in the game that show rotating
advertisements for items and sales in the game currency store. From what
I found via Google it looks like those QT errors may be related to that.
Right now I see a crosshatch image in place of the intended ad while
those screens are up but it does not stop the game from loading in past
those screens so unless the QT errors could also be stopping game sound
I'm not worried about fixing them at this time.

bcpeterson
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:24 pm

Post by bcpeterson » Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:18 pm

The only part that uses QT is pylotro itself, which is a python launcher for the game, since the native game launcher is .net based and doesn't work in wine. Those errors are pylotro specific have nothing to do the game itself at all.

And the splash/loading screens are indeed not downloaded by pylotro, but they are loaded by the native launcher. The loading screens can be manually downloaded and installed from http://www.mcgillsociety.org/PyLotRO/index.html but have no effect on game play (or audio).

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:19 am

On 09/08/2011 12:43 PM, tparker wrote:
On 09/08/2011 11:39 AM, James McKenzie wrote:
err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP Usually, you can find it in the winbind
package
of your distribution.
Fix this first, it may be causing many problems.
Sorry for the delayed response, it took me a bit of searching to find
how to check what was included in my distros packages and how to find
the versions numbers within those.

I found an update to my winbind, uninstalled the older version and
installed the new one (distro package is called called samba_winbind),
restarted the system and tried the game again. On starting pylotro the
"err:ntlm:SECUR32_initNTLMSP" lines are gone now, but it did not change
the no audio issue. On game start, after the (unrelated to this problem)
QT errors I now get:

fixme:toolhelp:CreateToolhelp32Snapshot Unimplemented: heap list snapshot
fixme:toolhelp:Heap32ListFirst : stub
fixme:imm:ImmReleaseContext (0x10074, (nil)): stub
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32aca4
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x327e1c
fixme:imm:NotifyIME IMC_SETCANDIDATEPOS
fixme:win:FlashWindowEx 0x32aa34

I've done some googling and couldn't find anything that sounds like any
of that would be audio related. The sound test in the winecfg audio tab
still works and all non-wine sound on the system still works, just not
sound in the game.

As I was typing this with the game still running in the background the
shell window updated with this:

wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x7c425000 at address
0xb756bd54 (thread 0018), starting debugger...
*** glibc detected *** C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe: malloc():
memory corruption: 0x7c413a70 ***
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr
0x7ec9b10f
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr
0x7ec9b10f
*** glibc detected *** C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe: malloc():
memory corruption: 0x7c413a70 ***
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 221: dl_open_worker:
Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args->nsid)->r_state ==
RT_CONSISTENT' failed!

Since the game was already running with no sound I assume that is not
related to the problem, but I'm adding to the post just in case as I am
not sure what I am looking for.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:23 pm

I just updated to wine 1.3.28 and the audio in game still does not work.
The audio window in game still does not give any sound card options in
the dropdown box or any titles on the slide bars or checkboxes and all
sliders are all the way down, same as before, and sliding them up still
does nothing. Tried again with both full and emulation settings in
winecfg audio tab, still no change. Testing audio on winecfg audio tab
still works for both full and emulation. Command line start gives same
errors as posted earlier.

bcpeterson
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 6:24 pm

Post by bcpeterson » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:28 pm

I just recently realized I didn't have sound either in DDO (same engine as LOTRO), and the fix for me was setting Windows 2000 in winecfg instead of Windows XP. Let me know if that works for you.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:50 pm

On 09/12/2011 07:28 PM, bcpeterson wrote:
I just recently realized I didn't have sound either in DDO (same engine as LOTRO), and the fix for me was setting Windows 2000 in winecfg instead of Windows XP. Let me know if that works for you.
Thanks for the idea, but it did not work for me.

Wine has sound (test in audio tab of winecfg works) but it does not seem
to be passing any sound information on to lotro (no options in sound
window of game settings). Sound used to work fine until recent wine
versions.

I did find some threads talking about the wine audio changes and
mmdevapi. Does anyone know - Is there a chance those changes are
preventing the game from finding the soundcard? What tools or utilities
would I use to test and/or fix that if it is a possibility? I ran a
couple searches but was not able to find many hits for current/semi
current wine versions other than one about mmdevapi and STO, but the
thread died without resolution and did not seem to be an audio problem.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:19 am

I installed another game (World of Warcraft since it's easy in Wine) to
see if sound works in Wine outside of LoTRO, and it does - WoW sees
sound devices, slider bars work, sound in game works fine and changes as
I change settings.

So my problem is that for some reason LoTRO is not seeing sound devices
through Wine. Does anyone know how I would try to track down why?

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:09 am

On 09/13/2011 10:33 AM, MacNean Tyrrell wrote:
Ubuntu forums had a guy say this about sound in LoTRO:

Okay, I think I fixed this. I installed pulseaudio, but there was
still no sound. Then, I uninstalled it, then lotro detected the ALSA
options. No idea why this works, anyone have some idea?
I am not keen on installing pulseaudio but if I can't find a way to
track down why the game isn't detecting audio I'll give it a shot.
Also, some sound related stuff with LoTRO is to check out your
userpreferences.ini file, rename it and see if sound populates in the
new one. Sorry I can't help you more. Just some random stuff I have
run across.
Thanks, I had found that on the LoTRO forums in my first search and
tried it, but it didn't work for me. I'm not sure if it not working is
related to the game not detecting audio devices, maybe whatever lets
that work in Windows isn't working similarly in Wine for this game or
something. Whatever it is, thanks for the ideas.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-us ... hment.html>

rafail
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:43 pm

Post by rafail » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:38 pm

I had the same problem with DDO (running on Kubuntu with Audigy2 sound card) after the last update. I found two different solutions:

1) In the wine libraries settings, use native openal32 rather than builtin. Then, some sort of generic playback device appears in the audio settings of DDO. The voice chat does not seem to work, though.

2) Leave openal32 at builtin, and install pulseaudio instead. Then, the full plethora of sound devices (pulseaudio, a bunch of alsa devices and even oss) appears in the audio settings of DDO. The voice chat works in this case, if an appropriate capture device is chosen.

I believe the problem is in the interaction between the turbine game engine and wine's openal32. Why the problem is remedied when pulseaudio is installed, is beyond me.

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

lotro - no sound or options alsa/wine 1.3.27

Post by tparker » Tue Sep 13, 2011 6:18 pm

On 09/13/2011 06:38 PM, rafail wrote:
I had the same problem with DDO (running on Kubuntu with Audigy2 sound card) after the last update. I found two different solutions:

1) In the wine libraries settings, use native openal32 rather than builtin. Then, some sort of generic playback device appears in the audio settings of DDO. The voice chat does not seem to work, though.
Thank you! I have not tested voice chat yet but this worked for sound,
both regular game sound and cut scenes.
2) Leave openal32 at builtin, and install pulseaudio instead. Then, the full plethora of sound devices (pulseaudio, a bunch of alsa devices and even oss) appears in the audio settings of DDO. The voice chat works in this case, if an appropriate capture device is chosen.

I believe the problem is in the interaction between the turbine game engine and wine's openal32. Why the problem is remedied when pulseaudio is installed, is beyond me.
I will keep that as an option if I need voice chat and can't get it
otherwise. For now in game sound and linux native
teamspeak/mumble/mangler should have me covered, thank you!

rafail
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:43 pm

Post by rafail » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:51 pm

You are welcome. I'd like to clarify that pulseaudio is needed solely for the list of sound devices to appear in the audio settings of DDO/Lotro - you should of course choose alsa's devices for capture and playback, as pulseaudio is not supported by wine. Which makes this whole business look rather creepy - why would one need to install an unsupported software for the supported software to be displayed.

Locked