After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 6:06 am

Hello Wine Users,

i have the "Stable" package channel of WineHQ in my distros(Mint / Ubuntu / Debian....).
Now they have updated from 6.x to 7.0.
I have exact one (1) Windows exe to run with wine, all others are native in linux.
This one is "winbox.exe" from Mikrotik to manage their routers / wireless etc.
And exactly this one will now stop to work with wine(7.0).
After launch the program i have a little "dashboard" to connect to the routers etc.
After select one of them nothing will be appear for a couple of seconds. After a wile i will get a error of a timeout (about 30 sek.) then when i select "reconnect" it will work.
So i have for every connect the procedure. In wine 6.x all was fine, i can go directly to a management device without timeout.
Now i have 3 options:
1. Set up wine 7 to work with it
2. Go back to wine 6
3. Launch a WindowsVM for run this tool in there

I am only a "user" an not a linux programmer and i have no idea how can fix it.
On console i will get a couple of errors when launching "winbox" with wine - this was in version 6 not a problem all functions in winbox works perfectly.

As a "masterplan" i will pack wine 6 to a snap or AppImage environment so i have the best version of wine for this little tool from Mikrotik.

Greets

jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2079
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by jkfloris » Sat Jan 22, 2022 7:59 am

Does the problem also occur in a clean wineprefix?

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=${HOME}/winbox wine winbox64.exe

LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Sat Jan 22, 2022 8:38 am

Does the problem also occur in a clean wineprefix?
This is the right way!
Winbox seems to run good with a blank prefix.
Copy the database with all logins is not a problem, but i know that i spend some hours to have a correct "fontspacing" it means the cursor is on the end of the lines and not soweware.
Winbox is in this case "very specific".
Bildschirmfoto vom 2022-01-22 14-31-47.png
Thank you
now i will try to bring my winbox to run again with winbox 7 at 100% :D
Greetings

LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Sun Jun 19, 2022 1:45 pm

Update:
Unfortunately it's not the prefix

It's just the change from 6 to 7 wine(stable).
On a "clean" prefix are all settings gone so that the option "open in new window" was disabled.
The option "open in new window" goes wrong on wine 7.
On wine 6 this option not fail.

So i search now for a way to make a "wine 6 loader" with appimage so i can ever load the wine version that works fine.

Greetings

jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2079
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by jkfloris » Mon Jun 20, 2022 4:16 pm

I don't know if you created the bug, but there is a report:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=52451

This bug report is missing a Wine terminal output. Preferably one for Wine 6 if it works and one from Wine 7 if it no longer works. Can you add them?

LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Tue Jun 21, 2022 4:26 pm

Hello,

i will try Wine 6 with Winbox.
How can i install the version 6?
ON debian with the original repository i will become wine 5.
With the wineHQ repository i will get the version 7
Is there a manual how i can install the "older" version?

Greetings

jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 2079
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by jkfloris » Wed Jun 22, 2022 10:26 am

Is there a manual how i can install the "older" version?
Here it is:

1. Find out what versions are available:

Code: Select all

apt policy winehq-stable
---
Example output:
----
winehq-stable:
  Installed: 7.0.0.0~bullseye-1
  Candidate: 7.0.0.0~bullseye-1
  Version table:
     7.0.0.0~bullseye-1 500
        500 https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/debian bullseye/main amd64 Packages
     6.0.4~bullseye-1 500
        500 https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/debian bullseye/main amd64 Packages
     6.0.3~bullseye-1 500
        500 https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/debian bullseye/main amd64 Packages
     6.0.2~bullseye-1 500
        500 https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/debian bullseye/main amd64 Packages
2. Install the version you want
A complete Wine installation consists of 4 packages:
winehq-stable
wine-stable
wine-stable-amd64
wine-stable-i386:i386

All 4 packages can be downgraded with:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install winehq-stable=6.0.4~bullseye-1 wine-stable=6.0.4~bullseye-1 wine-stable-amd64=6.0.4~bullseye-1 wine-stable-i386:i386=6.0.4~bullseye-1

LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 1:44 pm

Thank you for this help.
i have look to the bug report:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=52451
There are 2 outputs: one from wine 6 and the another from wine 7.


Wine 6 will it work and with wine 7 the option "open new windows" fails.
it doesn't matter use an old wine-prefix or a newly created prefix.

For me - i can permanently use wine 6 as a "workaround".
"Winbox.exe" is the only windows program I use.

Greetings

LinuxFan 0815
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:37 am

Re: After Update from 6 to 7 the Program "Winbox" will fail...

Post by LinuxFan 0815 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 1:47 pm

jkfloris wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 4:16 pm
I don't know if you created the bug, but there is a report:
https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=52451

This bug report is missing a Wine terminal output. Preferably one for Wine 6 if it works and one from Wine 7 if it no longer works. Can you add them?
In this report are both terminal outputs (wine 6 / 7 ).

They are in the "comments" added.
Greetings

Post Reply