How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Questions about Wine on Linux
Post Reply
Time4Tea
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by Time4Tea » Sat Jul 31, 2021 11:21 am

Hi, I am wondering what is the best/right way to prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives? I am aware of the tab in winecfg where drive mappings can be set up; however, it seems to keep getting overridden, which I don't want. I would like to be in control of which drives get mapped and which don't.

I saw that this question was asked a couple of years ago here, but the thread was locked with no replies.

Thanks in advance!

madewokherd
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by madewokherd » Sat Jul 31, 2021 3:03 pm

Build wine yourself and pass --without-dbus to configure.

spoon0042
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 532
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:00 am

Re: How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by spoon0042 » Sat Jul 31, 2021 5:40 pm

In theory you could disable mountmgr.sys, or that may be a bad idea. At least when I did winecfg yelled at me about it. Haven't tested further, ymmv. :)

madewokherd
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by madewokherd » Sat Jul 31, 2021 6:07 pm

It might break things. Mountmgr is responsible for serving some drive information queries from applications, and if you disable it those will fail.

madewokherd
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by madewokherd » Sat Jul 31, 2021 6:07 pm

I think it also breaks winecfg's drive querying/editing.

Time4Tea
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:32 am

Re: How can I prevent Wine from auto-mapping drives?

Post by Time4Tea » Sun Aug 01, 2021 5:35 am

madewokherd wrote:
Sat Jul 31, 2021 3:03 pm
Build wine yourself and pass --without-dbus to configure.
Hi, thanks for your reply and advice! It sounds like the custom build is the way to go - I will give that a try.

Post Reply