WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux




 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:29 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

trying to run "Alien Nations" (orig. "Die Völker"), 1999 (says "There's no copy protection").
Unfortunately, my Linux does not have a CD-drive. Thus, using another computer, I got the files as an iso, and mounted them on my linux @ /media/iso.

With this "fake drive", I could successfully install the game. However, when starting, I get prompted with
Quote:
Please insert Alien Nations CD-ROM!


What could be the reason for the game to decline the mounting point?

Using wine gdb, I found that the function GetFileAttributesA gets called with stack pointer $ebx being
"F:\\media\\iso\\Setup\\..\\Game\\".
Note that "/media/iso/SETUP" and "/media/iso/GAME" do exist, due to the mounted iso. Also, according to Wine config, I have a drive mapping from F: to /media/iso.

I'm not really good at this stuff, so any comments are very welcome
Thanks
Blauhirn


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:03 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 5
any ideas? :(


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:53 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 2:03 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

Does the CD-ROM map to the same drive now as when you installed the game (d: or similar)? Have you tried changing the drive type in Wine from Automatic to CD-ROM for your path?

Linux specific:
I have some images I've created for my games, but I treat the ones without copy protection as "General protected cd" when I create them. I have a windows box with Alcohol 120% for creation of images. The only way I've been able to mount the resulting mdf/s files using Linux, is by installing cdemu.

The thing about cdemu is that it creates a virtual drive, and Wine will automatically see this drive as CD-ROM. I also mount the drive, but I don't think that is necessary with a normal setup.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:23 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12019
If the game expects to interact with real hardware, simply mounting an iso won't work. As hjahre suggests, try CDEmu.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the input, much appreciated!
I tried CDEMU, unfortunately no luck. The drive was already mapped to type CD-ROM automatically, as can be seen from the following screenshot: (yes this is ubuntu)

http://i.imgur.com/iXJqsJ3.png

I will keep trying to find a workaround with GDB, but do you guys have any other idea?

Cheers
Blauhirn


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 6:16 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 5
uhu, so I solved the "please insert CD-ROM" alert with the following shell script:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd "$HOME/.wine/drive_c/Program Files (x86)/neoSoftware/Die Völker/Bin"
winedbg --gdb DV.exe <<EOL
break *0x4869c3
commands
   jump *0x486a03
end
continue
EOL

(this "hacks" inside the program code and changes its behaviour)

Not really sure if the adresses will be the same on other systems too. If needed, contact eochgls@web.de.

However, I can't get the ingame world to start, only thing that works is the menu (with sound). This would belong in another thread though. Thanks for the help again.


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:14 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Posts: 5
can be closed.
reason was an obsolete wine veresion (why in the world does apt-get install 1.6??)


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:43 pm 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:39 pm
Posts: 214
blauhirn wrote:
reason was an obsolete wine veresion (why in the world does apt-get install 1.6??)

Sadly it's not too uncommon for distros to ship outdated versions of wine per default. Always install the upstream package if possible.


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:46 pm 
Offline
Level 11
Level 11
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm
Posts: 1781
Location: Cambridge
DarkShadow44 wrote:
Sadly it's not too uncommon for Debian to ship outdated versions of wine per default.


Fixed for you! :wink:


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:33 am 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 10:10 am
Posts: 105
1.6 :?:

Debian 7 “Wheezy” i386, amd64, armel and armhf LTS from 26th April 2016 to 31st May 2018
https://packages.debian.org/wheezy/wine reports wine (1.4.1-4) :lol:

In 4 months wine 1.6.2-20 will be the LTS version :lol:
https://packages.debian.org/jessie/wine


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help » Linux


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: