Program manager

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
mixi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:24 pm
Contact:

Program manager

Post by mixi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:07 pm

Hey
First of all, great project.
Second, I was wondering if there is a program in the wine project,
where it is possible to make different setups for the programs installed.

Let me explain:
I have Picasa installed, I also have C&C 3 installed,
now C&C 3 I want to run in window mode and Picasa I don't want to run in window mode.
Is it possible to make different setups for them?
Or do I have to make a program/script myself?

Cheers from Denmark
- Mixi

austin987
Wine Developer
Wine Developer
Posts: 2383
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:19 pm
Contact:

Program manager

Post by austin987 » Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:17 pm

On Wed, Feb 27, 2008 at 3:07 PM, mixi <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Hey
First of all, great project.
Second, I was wondering if there is a program in the wine project,
where it is possible to make different setups for the programs installed.

Let me explain:
I have Picasa installed, I also have C&C 3 installed,
now C&C 3 I want to run in window mode and Picasa I don't want to run in window mode.
Is it possible to make different setups for them?
Or do I have to make a program/script myself?

Cheers from Denmark
- Mixi
It's possible to change some settings on a per app basis, but window
mode isn't one of them.

I'd say make 2 wine prefixes, i.e.:
~/.wine-cc3
~/.wine-picasa

That way each can have it's own 'c drive', settings, etc.

-Austin

Rico
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:10 pm

Re: Program manager

Post by Rico » Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:23 pm

mixi wrote:Hey
First of all, great project.
Second, I was wondering if there is a program in the wine project,
where it is possible to make different setups for the programs installed.

Let me explain:
I have Picasa installed, I also have C&C 3 installed,
now C&C 3 I want to run in window mode and Picasa I don't want to run in window mode.
Is it possible to make different setups for them?
Or do I have to make a program/script myself?

Cheers from Denmark
- Mixi
You can use serveral wineprefixes.

mixi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:24 pm
Contact:

Post by mixi » Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:22 pm

thanks for the quick replies.
I think i'll try using wineprefix.

Cheers
- Mixi

Locked