Visual C++ runtime library error

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
InterestedParty
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:14 pm

Post by InterestedParty » Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:54 pm

Alright and WHAT do I do when I run winetricks then! Enlighten me because all I'm being told is to run wine tricks or install something(never specified) through winetricks

InterestedParty
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:14 pm

Post by InterestedParty » Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:55 pm

and yes I've reinstalled all visual c++ applications through winetricks already.

InterestedParty
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:14 pm

Post by InterestedParty » Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:37 pm

Made a new .wine directory reinstalled the application I been trying to test, and out of the box it worked. So now my question is how do I fix my old .wine installation to be able to run the other application?

DaVince
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DaVince » Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:09 pm

Setting all DLLs back to native in winecfg should do the trick.

John Drescher

Visual C++ runtime library error

Post by John Drescher » Tue Feb 16, 2010 7:41 am

Made a new .wine directory reinstalled the application I been trying to test, and out of the box it worked. So now my question is how do I fix my old .wine installation to be able to run the other application?
I would just use more than 1 prefix. You can change your launchers to
reflect this.

John

InterestedParty
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:14 pm

Re: Visual C++ runtime library error

Post by InterestedParty » Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:11 pm

John Drescher wrote:
Made a new .wine directory reinstalled the application I been trying to test, and out of the box it worked. So now my question is how do I fix my old .wine installation to be able to run the other application?
I would just use more than 1 prefix. You can change your launchers to
reflect this.

John
as obvious as it is I don't know much about WINEPREFIX. Don't got the time to actually check right now so I'll just ask. If I used

Code: Select all

WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_large winecfg
would that reflect me editing that wine directories configurations?

James McKenzie

Visual C++ runtime library error

Post by James McKenzie » Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:25 pm

InterestedParty wrote:
John Drescher wrote:
Made a new .wine directory reinstalled the application I been trying to test, and out of the box it worked. So now my question is how do I fix my old .wine installation to be able to run the other application?


I would just use more than 1 prefix. You can change your launchers to
reflect this.

John
as obvious as it is I don't know much about WINEPREFIX. Don't got the time to actually check right now so I'll just ask. If I used
Code:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_large winecfg


would that reflect me editing that wine directories configurations?


No but

WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_large wine winecfg

would.

It may not be necessary to use wine, but I always do.

James McKenzie

DaVince
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 1099
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Visual C++ runtime library error

Post by DaVince » Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:35 pm

James McKenzie wrote:InterestedParty wrote:
John Drescher wrote:
I would just use more than 1 prefix. You can change your launchers to
reflect this.

John
as obvious as it is I don't know much about WINEPREFIX. Don't got the time to actually check right now so I'll just ask. If I used
Code:
WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_large winecfg


would that reflect me editing that wine directories configurations?


No but

WINEPREFIX=~/.wine_large wine winecfg

would.

It may not be necessary to use wine, but I always do.

James McKenzie
Doesn't winecfg by itself refer to "wine winecfg", anyway? It's always worked fine for me, even with a custom prefix...

vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Post by vitamin » Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:54 am

InterestedParty wrote:fixme:actctx:parse_depend_manifests Could not find dependent assembly L"Microsoft.VC80.CRT" (8.0.50727.4053)
Which vcrun have you installed with winetricks? This is 2005sp1.

InterestedParty
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:14 pm

Post by InterestedParty » Fri Feb 19, 2010 11:51 pm

I've installed both sp1 and the actual vcrun2005 via winetricks. I removed my dlls from winecfg menu

Locked