WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post subject: A question
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 6:08 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm
Posts: 10
Would it enable internet on Windows itself if I use Windows Internet through Wine?


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:33 pm 
Offline
Level 8
Level 8

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Wine and Windows are completely seperate, and Wine relies on Linux to make the connection. So no.


Top 
 Post subject: so............
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm
Posts: 10
So, could I still use the internet through wine, for windows, without any trouble at all?


Top 
 Post subject: A question
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:39 pm 
 
On Tue, Dec 29, 2009 at 5:35 PM, maxmc087 <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Quote:
So, could I still use the internet through wine, for windows, without any trouble at all?


Your questions do not make complete sense.

John


Top 
 Post subject: What I mean is
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:45 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:59 pm
Posts: 10
Ok, Let me rephrase this, My original question was 'will it enable internet on windows itself through wine'. Since my answer was 'no' I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble, and 2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition


Top 
 Post subject: Re: What I mean is
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 12362
maxmc087 wrote:
I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble,


This does not make sense. Wine does not run on Windows.

Now, if you're asking whether Windows apps running in Wine can connect to the internet, the answer is yes.

Quote:
2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition


Why don't you just try it and find out?


Top 
 Post subject: A question
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:39 pm 
 
maxmc087 wrote:
Quote:
Ok, Let me rephrase this, My original question was 'will it enable internet on windows itself through wine'. Since my answer was 'no' I'm wondering if 1) it'll be safe to use internet on windows through wine without any trouble,

Wine is NOT Windows. Thus this question should be asked:

Can you connect to the Internet through Wine? Yes and no. If you are
on Linux, functions like ping (echo response) may/may not work. You can
use gecko for some, but not all, HTML functionality. You can install
Firefox 3.5.5 for web browsing. If you need IE8, you are out of luck.
Quote:
and 2) will wine even connect to the internet if I go on Halo Custom edition


Don't know. However, we do provide an Applications Database where you
can look for this. If it is not there, that means:

a. No one has tried,
b. Folks have tried but not entered any results.

You should not rely on the results of what others have found. If there
are no results posted, why not try and let us know what happened.

James McKenzie


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:49 pm 
Offline
Level 8
Level 8

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
I answered 'no' because I assumed you were saying this:

"If I am able to make an internet connection in Wine, will I suddenly be able to make a connection in real Windows too?"

Since Wine's a program that's completely seperate from an OS like Windows in terms of access, it won't make any soft of difference.

If you meant something else, please, PLEASE rephrase. Most apps can connect to the internet fine under Wine if you meant that, though it depends on the completeness and compatibility of the networking libraries with Wine that seperate apps use.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 9:22 pm 
Offline
Level 8
Level 8

Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:21 pm
Posts: 1227
It sounds like the OP thinks Wine is something like VMware... that it runs Windows. It does not run Windows at all, it just runs software made for Windows without needing Windows at all.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: