Newbie question - how to know which libraries to install

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
duke_chester99

Newbie question - how to know which libraries to install

Post by duke_chester99 »

Newbie here. I've used wine many times (usually with Q4Wine or winetricks) to install apps. Of course, some worked, some failed. I've been trying to understand what to do. In that light, many people (and listed apps) indicate that additional libraries have to be installed. Two questions - are these libraries installed with wine or with the app? And, how can I tell which libraries to install?

Thanks
jkfloris
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Newbie question - how to know which libraries to install

Post by jkfloris »

are these libraries installed with wine or with the app?
Wine tries to mimic a Windows installation. If a DLL file appears in a standard Windows installation, Wine (usually) has its own variant of it. Other DLL files should be included with the program. Wine installs those files into the "fake" Windows. Wine is (not yet) perfect. Therefore, it may happen that a Wine DLL file does not work well enough. Then it may help to install the Windows variant of that DLL file. But this can also destroy your "fake" Windows installation (wineprefix). So use a separate wineprefix if you are experimenting with this.
how can I tell which libraries to install?
Start the program from the command line. This will allow you to see messages from Wine that may help troubleshoot problems.

For example:

Code: Select all

wine program.exe
err:module:import_dll Library MFC42.DLL (which is needed by L"program.exe") not found
In this case, mfc42.dll (from Visual C++ 6) is missing. You can install this file with winetricks:

winetricks -q mfc42