Error: The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Post Reply
Xndor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:29 am

Error: The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

Post by Xndor » Tue Aug 25, 2020 2:26 pm

Hello, guys.
A new version of an app doesn't work. If I try to open it show the following message.
The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

The app is ConsultantPlus (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consultant_Plus).
I use the latest clear version of the Wine-stagging.

spoon0042
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:00 am

Re: Error: The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

Post by spoon0042 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 4:32 pm

It appears wine doesn't implement that function. You may be able to work around it by setting an earlier windows version in winecfg like 2000. Either way you may want to file a bug.

Xndor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:29 am

Re: Error: The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

Post by Xndor » Fri Sep 11, 2020 1:31 pm

Unfortunately switch of the win version didn't help.

How should I file a bug?

spoon0042
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:00 am

Re: Error: The procedure entry point LogonUserExA could not be located in the dynamic link library ADVAPI32.DLL

Post by spoon0042 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:03 pm

wine's bugzilla is here: https://bugs.winehq.org/

and there is a guide for filing bugs here: https://wiki.winehq.org/Bugs

Provide any information that you think is useful. Including any terminal output.

First though you should probably reproduce the error in a clean wineprefix with wine-devel rather than staging just to be sure, and you may be asked to anyway. If you used winetricks at all or there was any other special setup to be done you would want to mention that as well. And for all I know that error message may be a red herring and someone who sees your report will know better. Good luck.

Post Reply