Multiple ISO's

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
dave370
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:55 pm

Multiple ISO's

Post by dave370 »

Hi,
I have a number of games which have multiple install CD's which I have in ISO format (Need for Speed: Underground 2, Sim City: Deluxe and a few others). When I attempt to install the game I use the following command to Mount the game CD:

mount '/home/user/gamefolder/gameimage.iso' /mnt/iso1/ -t iso9660 -o ro,loop=/dev/loop0

This mounts the Game Image to /mnt/iso and from there I can wine the game setup executable. The setup program will work correctly until it asks for the second disk. When I started installing the first game I had tried to run in Wine which had multiple disks I thought I could just umount /mnt/iso and then mount the second iso. But umount complained that the device was busy. So I then tried umount -l /mnt/iso which did unmount it. I then mounted the second image with another loop device. After checking that the mount had worked correctly I clicked Okay on the Game's installer. But the game did not know the second disk was mounted.

Is there a way to install games with multiple disks in Wine with ISO's?
Chad
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:17 pm

Re: Multiple ISO's

Post by Chad »

dave370 wrote:Hi,
I have a number of games which have multiple install CD's which I have in ISO format (Need for Speed: Underground 2, Sim City: Deluxe and a few others). When I attempt to install the game I use the following command to Mount the game CD:

mount '/home/user/gamefolder/gameimage.iso' /mnt/iso1/ -t iso9660 -o ro,loop=/dev/loop0

This mounts the Game Image to /mnt/iso and from there I can wine the game setup executable. The setup program will work correctly until it asks for the second disk. When I started installing the first game I had tried to run in Wine which had multiple disks I thought I could just umount /mnt/iso and then mount the second iso. But umount complained that the device was busy. So I then tried umount -l /mnt/iso which did unmount it. I then mounted the second image with another loop device. After checking that the mount had worked correctly I clicked Okay on the Game's installer. But the game did not know the second disk was mounted.

Is there a way to install games with multiple disks in Wine with ISO's?
I believe when it asks for the second CD you have to issue the command "wine eject" from the terminal then mount the next one and continue.
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: Multiple ISO's

Post by vitamin »

Chad wrote:I believe when it asks for the second CD you have to issue the command "wine eject" from the terminal then mount the next one and continue.
Correct, with few extra conditions:
1. Your cdrom/iso mount point have to be mapped in winecfg to a drive letter and t's type have to be set to "cdrom".
2. You have to 'cd' _OUTSIDE_ the mount point ex: 'cd ~; wine d:\\setup.exe'. Or the more preferred way is to use 'winefile' to start the installer:

Code: Select all

cd ~
winefile
dave370
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:55 pm

Post by dave370 »

Thanks, I mapped my iso mount point to a drive letter in winecfg. I then tried to execute the following command:

wine e:\setup.exe

with the Current Directory out of the game's folder with Sim City 4 Deluxe but the installer program did not like the CD being outside the game's directory and wouldn't start (I think this is what happened anyway because when CD was in game directory it would work). I then tried Winefile and this worked.

It would be good if someone could tell me how to not have the CD in the game's directory but still allow the game to execute, although I am happy with using winefile.
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: Multiple ISO's

Post by vitamin »

dave370 wrote:Thanks, I mapped my iso mount point to a drive letter in winecfg. I then tried to execute the following command:

wine e:\setup.exe

with the Current Directory out of the game's folder with Sim City 4 Deluxe but the installer program did not like the CD being outside the game's directory and wouldn't start (I think this is what happened anyway because when CD was in game directory it would work). I then tried Winefile and this worked.

It would be good if someone could tell me how to not have the CD in the game's directory but still allow the game to execute, although I am happy with using winefile.
It's really a program's bug not Wine's. You will have exactly the same problem if you try to run it from the console on window.
If you need one liner, something like this might work:

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/iso && wine e:\\setup.exe & && cd ~ && fg
dave370
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:55 pm

Post by dave370 »

Thanks
Locked