The Sims 3, runtime errors, and using a 32-bit prefix

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
User avatar
vanta_black
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:50 am

The Sims 3, runtime errors, and using a 32-bit prefix

Post by vanta_black »

Hello! I am currently attempting to install The Sims 3 on Manjaro 17.0 I keep getting the errors "Runntime Error at 71:174 Could not call proc" and "Runtime Error at 154 113 Could not call proc" when attempting to run the executable. The numerous guides I've looked up online, as well as advice gleamed from elsewhere on the internet, all point towards installing certain components that I always get the following error when attempting to install: "This package does not work on a 64-bit installation. You must use a prefix made with WINEARCH=win32."

Where do I go from here?
User avatar
Bob Wya
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 3068
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 7:40 pm

Re: The Sims 3, runtime errors, and using a 32-bit prefix

Post by Bob Wya »

@vanta_black,

See the WineHQ FAQ: 6.5 Wineprefixes ...

Also make sure that your winetricks scripts is up-to-date - see WineHQ: Winetricks ...

So something like:

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX="${HOME}/.wine32"
export WINARCH=win32
wineboot -u
winetricks vcrun2005 dotnet20sp2 mfc42
Then install your game to that new 32-bit WINEPREFIX. You need the:

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX="${HOME}/.wine32"
prior to using a non-default WINEPREFIX. This env variable will only persist for a single console (login) session.

Bob
Locked