WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:19 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Ive tried on and off over the years to switch over to linux, problem is I havent been able to get some things I require to work.

I have a 2003 exchange server that contains my website, email services(obviously) and my daily work software, called Wintotal.
its installed on the client workstation by mapping the program folder and running the .exe and it basically just creates links to the program located on the server but does require some local resources as well.

I would REALLY love to get this program (wintotal) to work through Wine but Im not sure how to go about it or if its even possible due to it being a network program.

I can access it through the samba shares but clicking and telling it to open it Wine doesnt do anything.

Any help or ideas on how to accomplish this would be awsome.


Top 
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:28 pm 
 
using the network isnt necessarily a problem for wine. i play games and
even do my tax through windows programs in WINE that use the network
through winsock.

if the program simply isnt working, the first place to look is what
information wine is giving you via the command line.

so from a command window, just run

wine /path/to/exe/wintotal.exe

then see what it spews forth, then try and make some sense of it, and
post on here asking for further assistance

Dean

turbozmike wrote:
Quote:
Ive tried on and off over the years to switch over to linux, problem is I havent been able to get some things I require to work.

I have a 2003 exchange server that contains my website, email services(obviously) and my daily work software, called Wintotal.
its installed on the client workstation by mapping the program folder and running the .exe and it basically just creates links to the program located on the server but does require some local resources as well.

I would REALLY love to get this program (wintotal) to work through Wine but Im not sure how to go about it or if its even possible due to it being a network program.

I can access it through the samba shares but clicking and telling it to open it Wine doesnt do anything.

Any help or ideas on how to accomplish this would be awsome.







Top 
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:47 pm 
 
turbozmike <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Quote:
My daily work software, called Wintotal.

FWIW, there's a demo CD available from
http://www.alamode.com/products/Appraiser/WinTOTAL/
I've ordered a copy and will try to test it sometime.

But why don't you just give it a shot, and report
what problems you run into?
- Dan


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:20 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Ill give a few things a try and keep you posted.

I know few people in my profession that would love to switch away from microsoft products.


Top 
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:03 pm 
 
On Sat, Mar 15, 2008 at 3:46 PM, Dan Kegel <dank@kegel.com> wrote:
Quote:
Quote:
My daily work software, called Wintotal.

FWIW, there's a demo CD available from
http://www.alamode.com/products/Appraiser/WinTOTAL/
I've ordered a copy and will try to test it sometime.

It also has a download version, so I grabbed it.
Turns out it requires .net 2.0. That makes it hard to
try; there is a recipe at http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=3754
but we don't expect the average user to be able to
follow it, nor do we expect .net 2.0 to actually work yet;
the recipe is for early adopters who expect things to be broken.

Hang tight for a while (month? two?) and we might have
.net 2 in a bit better shape...
- Dan


Top 
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:03 pm 
 
On Sat, Mar 15, 2008 at 8:02 PM, Dan Kegel <dank@kegel.com> wrote:
Quote:
On Sat, Mar 15, 2008 at 3:46 PM, Dan Kegel <dank@kegel.com> wrote:
Quote:
Quote:
My daily work software, called Wintotal.

FWIW, there's a demo CD available from
http://www.alamode.com/products/Appraiser/WinTOTAL/
I've ordered a copy and will try to test it sometime.

It also has a download version, so I grabbed it.
Turns out it requires .net 2.0.

But maybe the demo (Aurora) is a newer version than you have.
What version of WinTOTAL do you have?
- Dan


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:13 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
I use aurora.
I could have mentioned it requires .net i suppose.
on the server side it uses sql services also, though I havent figure what for, it works without them.

the software can be installed 2 ways, server side or local.
I use the server install method, so I can have more 1 person use it.

Il try and follow the method in that link some time this week to make .net work.
Im doing this on a test machine so its ok if i break it.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:18 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
Im working on this again,
Im running into an MSDE problem now.
any idea how we can get this to work or work around?
Unfortunately the program install LOOKS for the msde sql database


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 7:13 pm 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
bump...

Any help on this would be awsome. Id love to ditch the SBS 2003 and Exchange.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:09 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:43 pm
Posts: 6
bump again


Top 
 Post subject: Network Programs
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 9:14 am 
 
On Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 6:18 AM, turbozmike <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Quote:
Im working on this again,
Im running into an MSDE problem now.
any idea how we can get this to work or work around?
Unfortunately the program install LOOKS for the msde sql database

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=3610 ?

If you run a DB elsewhere you might be able to delete the check from
the MSI with Orca? (No idea if the MS SQL server client is actually
working...)
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa370557.aspx (You need to
download the Windows SDK to get it from MS...)

Gert


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: