WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:09 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:59 am
Posts: 3
I read somewhere that directly running an app in Wine without first cd-ing to it's folder wasn't the best thing and that I should write a bash script to launch them if I don't wanna constantly cd to the right directory.
Wine creates Shortcuts in the menu for me for all the apps I install through it.
My question is, are these shortcuts the OK way to launch Wine apps or should I still make scripts and avoid using the default shortcuts?


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:17 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Alucard-sama wrote:
My question is, are these shortcuts the OK way to launch Wine apps or should I still make scripts and avoid using the default shortcuts?


They should be. All those shortcuts have work directory set as specified by the installer itself. Keep in mind that some WMs might not show this path in the link properties.


Top 
 Post subject: Danke
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:23 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:59 am
Posts: 3
K shweet thanks


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:15 pm 
 
On Mon, Mar 10, 2008 at 2:23 AM, Alucard-sama <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Quote:
K shweet thanks







It depends on the app really. I have one app that requires you to run
it from the directory in which the executable lies. The menu shortcut
that is created for wine just doesn't work. It probably has something
to do with the fact that you launch a program which launches another,
which launches another. It shouldn't be too common though.


Top 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Charity Abbott wrote:
It depends on the app really.

No it does not. As I said above a link (.desktop file) have the "Path" variable that works as a "Work directory" in .lnk file. If you trying to say this does not work for you - file bug with your distro. As all desktop environments aka WMs do support this parameter.


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 7:22 am 
 
"vitamin" <wineforum-user@winehq.org> writes:

Quote:
Charity Abbott wrote:
Quote:
It depends on the app really.

No it does not. As I said above a link (.desktop file) have the "Path" variable that works as a "Work directory" in .lnk file. If you trying to say this does not work for you - file bug with your distro. As all desktop environments aka WMs do support this parameter.

First of all, that is good news for me, I did not know about the path
variable.

Second, question: can one also set environment variables specific for
an app in the link, or must that then be a script (which is what I am
doing now, for example, to run Word and Excel with a Japanese input
method enabled, different from the one which I can use in my desktop
and WM).
--
Gernot Hassenpflug


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Gernot Hassenpflug wrote:
Second, question: can one also set environment variables specific for
an app in the link, or must that then be a script (which is what I am
doing now, for example, to run Word and Excel with a Japanese input
method enabled, different from the one which I can use in my desktop
and WM).

Yes, look at any link created by resent Wine version. You will see how it handles WINEPREFIX. Just add more env vars to the list - that's all.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: