Cannot install aok (Age of Empires 2: Age of Kings) on Wine

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Cannot install aok (Age of Empires 2: Age of Kings) on Wine

Post by AleCes » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:22 pm

Hi there,

I'm running Wine 1.3.28 on Ubuntu Oneiric and I cannot manage to get aok installed. The installation routinely freezes immediately after the program starts to copy the first file, the message that pops up says there isn't enough space on disk (clearly a false statement) or that the folder is being used by some other program (which one?).

Thanks for your help.

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:39 pm

It's better if you run the installation from the console, then copy its messages to here.

jjmckenzie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1153
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:01 pm

Cannot install aok (Age of Empires 2: Age of Kings) on Wine

Post by jjmckenzie » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:47 pm

On Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 12:22 PM, AleCes <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Hi there,

I'm running Wine 1.3.28 on Ubuntu Oneiric
This is outdated and no longer supported. Please update to the
current stable release, 1.4.

James

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Re: Cannot install aok (Age of Empires 2: Age of Kings) on W

Post by AleCes » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:52 pm

jjmckenzie wrote:On Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 12:22 PM, AleCes <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Hi there,

I'm running Wine 1.3.28 on Ubuntu Oneiric
This is outdated and no longer supported. Please update to the
current stable release, 1.4.

James
:shock: But... Ubuntu software center only displays 1.2 and 1.3, and it even says 1.3 is a beta version. :?:

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:53 pm

Alex_G wrote:It's better if you run the installation from the console, then copy its messages to here.
Hi Alex, is your request still valid even if the version I'm running is obsolete?

John Drescher

Cannot install aok (Age of Empires 2: Age of Kings) on Wine

Post by John Drescher » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:04 pm

Hi Alex, is your request still valid even if the version I'm running is obsolete?
That can help even on an obsolete version of wine. This is the best
way to debug problems.

John

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:16 pm

Here we go:

Code: Select all

alessandro@bureau:/media/AOE2$ fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 32 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 32 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:sfc:SfcIsFileProtected ((nil), L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ir41_32.ax") stub
err:alsa:wine_snd_pcm_recover underrun occurred

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:58 pm

I'll try to answer tomorrow. It's too late now )

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:59 pm

Alex_G wrote:I'll try to answer tomorrow. It's too late now )
Ok, just take your time. Thanks anyway.

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:14 am

AleCes wrote:Here we go:

Code: Select all

alessandro@bureau:/media/AOE2$ fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 32 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 8 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:alsa:AudioClient_GetMixFormat Don't know what to do with 32 channels, pretending there's only 2 channels
fixme:sfc:SfcIsFileProtected ((nil), L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ir41_32.ax") stub
err:alsa:wine_snd_pcm_recover underrun occurred
Strange output.
Where is the command to the executable? Have you just deleted those lines?
Can't realize how the installation can be linked with the ALSA and sound... )

Which file from the disk you trying to launch?

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:56 am

wine aoesetup.exe

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:07 am

ir41-32.ax belongs to Intel Indeo Codec, I dunno, probably executable require to play some video in background within installation process. :?

First, try to get Intel Indeo Codec:

Code: Select all

winetricks icodecs

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:19 am

Code: Select all

icodecs already installed, skipping

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:42 am

Look if you want, you may took it from torrent, since you have legal CD, it will be not a crime. :)

Got downloaded torrent unpacked launched it with aoesetup.exe and installation was passed until the finish without any problems.

See the PM for the link where I got it. It works fine on my PC.

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:51 am

Alex_G wrote:Got downloaded torrent unpacked launched ...
LOL :D

I'm sorry! I forget to check what I'm writing when in a hurry...
meant:
- Got the torrent
- Unpacked the archive inside of the folder
- Launched aosetup.exe

Alex_G
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:48 am
Location: Russia

Post by Alex_G » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:07 am

One more I recommend (maybe the problem is a CD integrity) is this:

Try to copy all its contents to your hard drive, then launch aoesetup.exe from there.

Old CD, you know...

PommeGolden
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:05 am

Post by PommeGolden » Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:10 am

It should work.

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:27 am

PommeGolden wrote:It should work.
OK, thanks guys, first of all I'll check the integrity of the CD, then I'll try with your link. I'll let you know.

Regards

AleCes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:15 pm

Post by AleCes » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:00 pm

OK, the installation via iso worked, I also installed The Conquerors, but now I cannot manage to get the game started!!! Wine tells me age2_x1.exe has created serious trouble and must be stopped. :shock:

N.B: both AOK and AOE were patched.

User avatar
dimesio
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12948
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm

Post by dimesio » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:49 pm

Alex_G wrote:Look if you want, you may took it from torrent, since you have legal CD, it will be not a crime. :)

Got downloaded torrent unpacked launched it with aoesetup.exe and installation was passed until the finish without any problems.

See the PM for the link where I got it. It works fine on my PC.
Illegally obtained software is not supported here, and your suggestion is against forum rules. Do not make such a suggestion again.

Topic closed.

Locked