CDROM detect failed

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

Hi,
I was trying to install an old Sierra game called Lighthouse. It
used to fail completely under old versions of Wine and I got a request
to try it again. I am doing this on a Gentoo 64-bit machine but Wine
is a 32-bit app on this machine:

mark@lightning ~ $ file /usr/bin/wine
/usr/bin/wine: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1
(SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.6.9, dynamically linked (uses shared libs),
stripped
mark@lightning ~ $

Anyway, in a clean account with no .wine directory (I don't run
Wine much...) I mounted the CD and then executed wine
/mnt/cdrom/setup.exe. The setup starts, checks sound and then fails
saying the system has no CDROM.

Questions:

1) Is it even valid to install Wine this way where there isn't an
existing Wine directory before I start the application install or is
preferred that I do some specific set of steps first.

2) How do I correctly show wine where to get the CD so that I can try
to move forward? Is that in winecfg, and if so then does running
winecfg first create everything required to install an app? I'm
running it right now and I see a C: and Z: drive. How do I specify a
CDROM in this? Just link it to /mnt/cdrom?

Thanks,
Mark
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Tue, Mar 4, 2008 at 8:48 AM, Mark Knecht <[email protected]> wrote:
Hi,
I was trying to install an old Sierra game called Lighthouse. It
used to fail completely under old versions of Wine and I got a request
to try it again. I am doing this on a Gentoo 64-bit machine but Wine
is a 32-bit app on this machine:

mark@lightning ~ $ file /usr/bin/wine
/usr/bin/wine: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1
(SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.6.9, dynamically linked (uses shared libs),
stripped
mark@lightning ~ $

Anyway, in a clean account with no .wine directory (I don't run
Wine much...) I mounted the CD and then executed wine
/mnt/cdrom/setup.exe. The setup starts, checks sound and then fails
saying the system has no CDROM.

Questions:

1) Is it even valid to install Wine this way where there isn't an
existing Wine directory before I start the application install or is
preferred that I do some specific set of steps first.

2) How do I correctly show wine where to get the CD so that I can try
to move forward? Is that in winecfg, and if so then does running
winecfg first create everything required to install an app? I'm
running it right now and I see a C: and Z: drive. How do I specify a
CDROM in this? Just link it to /mnt/cdrom?

Thanks,
Mark
Following on I specified drive D: as a CD and tried the install. One
option was to test the system. Sound worked. Then it tried testing the
CD and crashed immediately with this and more:

mark@lightning ~ $ wine /mnt/cdrom/setup.exe
fixme:wave:wodPlayer_Reset shouldn't have headers left
wine: Unhandled division by zero at address 0x127f:0x00009de9 (thread
0015), starting debugger...
Unhandled exception: divide by zero in 16-bit code (127f:9de9).
In 16 bit mode.
Register dump:
CS:127f SS:12c7 DS:12c7 ES:12c7 FS:0063 GS:006b
IP:9de9 SP:5214 BP:533a FLAGS:0a47( - 00 ROIZP1C)
AX:0a00 BX:000e CX:04a9 DX:048d SI:001a DI:001a
Stack dump:
0x12c7:0x5214: 129f 12c7 6c53 129f 5da2 0001 12c7 002b
0x12c7:0x5224: 0000 8308 7dae 0000 0000 0000 0000 529c
0x12c7:0x5234: 0000 12c7 1688 1287 2654 12c7 0dfc 12c7
0258: sel=12c7 base=0040e2d0 limit=000067bf 16-bit rw-
Backtrace:
=>1 0x127f:0x9de9 (0x12c7:0x533a)
2 0x129f:0x5265 (0x12c7:0x534a)
3 0x129f:0x538f (0x12c7:0x5360)
4 0x129f:0x1c8b (0x12c7:0x5394)
5 0x129f:0x0243 (0x12c7:0x53c4)
6 0x1287:0x2d2a (0x12c7:0x540e)
7 0x101f:0x0468 in kernel32 (+0x7e30c) (0x12c7:0x5448)
8 0x7ee8d48e K32WOWCallback16Ex+0xce() in kernel32 (0x7dae9628)
9 0x7ed0cdfe WINPROC_wrapper+0x50e() in user32 (0x7dae9968)
10 0x7ed0cefb WINPROC_wrapper+0x60b() in user32 (0x7dae9998)
11 0x7ed0f86c in user32 (+0xaf86c) (0x7dae9e98)

I have to Ctrl-C out of the setup to get control again.

Is this type of info of any use to anyone?

Thanks,
Mark
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: CDROM detect failed

Post by vitamin »

Since gentoo does not have 32-bit HAL you have to run winecfg, add cd-rom mapping on "Drives" page, make sure it's type is set to cd-rom. Verify that you do have access to the device (not just the mount point). Then run your program with:

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/cdrom/
wine "D:\setup.exe"
Assuming that you mapped cd-rom to D: drive. And that this is a single-cd install.
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Tue, Mar 4, 2008 at 8:54 AM, vitamin <[email protected]> wrote:
Since gentoo does not have 32-bit HAL you have to run winecfg, add cd-rom mapping on "Drives" page, make sure it's type is set to cd-rom. Verify that you do have access to the device (not just the mount point). Then run your program with:

Code:
cd /mnt/cdrom/
wine "D:\setup.exe"


Assuming that you mapped cd-rom to D: drive. And that this is a single-cd install.





Thanks. I Set it up that way and gave it a try. Sierra has a little
test program that looks at various system aspect - graphics, sound,
CDROM, Windows itself, etc. As soon as it tries to test the CD it
fails like this:

mark@lightning ~ $ wine "D:\setup.exe"
fixme:wave:wodPlayer_Reset shouldn't have headers left
wine: Unhandled division by zero at address 0x128f:0x0000462d (thread
0024), starting debugger...
Unhandled exception: divide by zero in 16-bit code (128f:462d).
In 16 bit mode.
Register dump:
CS:128f SS:12c7 DS:12c7 ES:12c7 FS:0063 GS:006b
IP:462d SP:4f2e BP:4f54 FLAGS:0246( - 00 -RIZP1)
AX:0784 BX:0000 CX:0000 DX:0000 SI:531e DI:000a
Stack dump:
0x12c7:0x4f2e: 000a 531e 0000 12c7 12c7 0063 1637 0000
0x12c7:0x4f3e: 1637 20d4 0001 1a4b 0002 1a4b 0002 0000
0x12c7:0x4f4e: 0000 20d4 0001 5094 44f5 128f 531e 12c7
0258: sel=12c7 base=0040e2d0 limit=000067bf 16-bit rw-
Backtrace:
=>1 0x128f:0x462d (0x12c7:0x4f54)

It also fails when testing the version of Windows with this:

mark@lightning ~ $ wine "D:\setup.exe"
fixme:wave:wodPlayer_Reset shouldn't have headers left
wine: Unhandled division by zero at address 0x127f:0x00009de9 (thread
0030), starting debugger...
Unhandled exception: divide by zero in 16-bit code (127f:9de9).
In 16 bit mode.
Register dump:
CS:127f SS:12c7 DS:12c7 ES:12c7 FS:0063 GS:006b
IP:9de9 SP:5254 BP:537a FLAGS:0a47( - 00 ROIZP1C)
AX:0a00 BX:000e CX:04a9 DX:048d SI:001a DI:001a
Stack dump:
0x12c7:0x5254: 129f 12c7 6c53 129f 5da2 0001 128f 002b
0x12c7:0x5264: 002b 002b 5276 105c 1287 1c50 1587 0de8
0x12c7:0x5274: 1e4e 5284 006b 0000 12c7 0508 101f 0063
0258: sel=12c7 base=0040e2d0 limit=000067bf 16-bit rw-
Backtrace:
=>1 0x127f:0x9de9 (0x12c7:0x537a)

I'm attaching a small screenshot of the test app which is having trouble.

I then tried going forward with the install and got a System Error
dialog box that says

DdeConnect returned 0

Then another that said

Setup was unable to add a program group for Sierra

and then more of the same about the Lighthouse group, etc. However it
didn't crash, just threw a bunch of messages about menus and what not.
There is an installation directory now:

mark@lightning ~ $ ls -al .wine/drive_c/SIERRA/LIGHTWIN/
11.CSC 380.CSC 800.CSC A0030100.001 LIGHTHSE.ICO
RESOURCE.WIN SIERRA.INF
16.CSC 480.CSC 820.CSC A0030200.001 README.WRI
RESSCI.PAT SIERW5.EXE
24.CSC 700.CSC 870.CSC A0960Z00.001 RESMAP.PAT
RSTSG.000
270.CSC 765.CSC 9.CSC LANGUAGE.INF RESMDT.PAT
SIERRA.ERR
mark@lightning ~ $ ls -al .wine/drive_c/SIERRA/LIGHTWIN/


I wasn't clearas to what I run to try running the game at this point
so I tried SIERW5.EXE. Amazing. The game starts, but it's in a little
tiny window. Probably it's running 640x480 or something like that.

Anyway, it's working well enough to try playing it for awhile and
seeing what happens.

Thanks,
Mark
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: snap0000.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 44542 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-us ... chment.jpg
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: CDROM detect failed

Post by vitamin »

Looks like a 16-bit app. These are horribly broken in Wine ATM. Please file a bug in bugzilla. There is no fix, except returning to some 1 - 2 years old Wine.
Dan Kegel

CDROM detect failed

Post by Dan Kegel »

On Tue, Mar 4, 2008 at 2:32 PM, vitamin <[email protected]> wrote:
Looks like a 16-bit app. These are horribly broken in Wine ATM. Please file a bug in bugzilla. There is no fix, except returning to some 1 - 2 years old Wine.
Nah, it's DOS apps that are broken, isn't it?
There are a few win16 breakages, but as of last summer,
only a few known bugs:
http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9850

In any case, yes, please file a bug.
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Tue, Mar 4, 2008 at 3:02 PM, Dan Kegel <[email protected]> wrote:
On Tue, Mar 4, 2008 at 2:32 PM, vitamin <[email protected]> wrote:
Looks like a 16-bit app. These are horribly broken in Wine ATM. Please file a bug in bugzilla. There is no fix, except returning to some 1 - 2 years old Wine.
Nah, it's DOS apps that are broken, isn't it?
There are a few win16 breakages, but as of last summer,
only a few known bugs:
http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9850

In any case, yes, please file a bug.

Dan,
This bug has been in the system since Nov. 2004 as bug #2555. The
current incantation doesn't seem much different from my report in
Oct., 2005. I've added some new information this morning. Time rolls
by. Nearly 3 1/2 years!

Now at least the game does play. It's only this little embedded
system tester inside the install program that fails for the CDROM and
the CPU/operating system.

Cheers,
Mark
Dan Kegel

CDROM detect failed

Post by Dan Kegel »

On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 6:17 AM, Mark Knecht <[email protected]> wrote:
This bug has been in the system since Nov. 2004 as bug #2555.
Why didn't you say so?

That ought to be one of our "here's how to use this forum" points:
if you're discussing something that has a bug report,
always link to the bug report. Otherwise you make very
busy wine developers waste time.
- Dan
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 6:53 AM, Dan Kegel <[email protected]> wrote:
On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 6:17 AM, Mark Knecht <[email protected]> wrote:
This bug has been in the system since Nov. 2004 as bug #2555.
Why didn't you say so?

That ought to be one of our "here's how to use this forum" points:
if you're discussing something that has a bug report,
always link to the bug report. Otherwise you make very
busy wine developers waste time.
- Dan
Dan,
I didn't say anything because after 3 1/2 years since I entered the
bug report I had simply forgotten. I certainly could have, and
probably should have, searched the system for anything on this app.
I'll try to do that in the future. I see that the game has worked
since 0.9.30.

I am only a casual user of Wine. I've tried it over the years and
found myself more frustrated than productive so I put it away and come
back later (sometimes much later!) to try it out again. As I now run a
64-bit system I (mistakenly) thought I couldn't even use Wine for the
last 2 years. For some reason I asked about this on the Gentoo-amd64
list and found out I could so I decided to give it a try.

This specific game used to fail completely. Now it works since at
least 0.9.30. That's a big improvement. However as a user type I hope
you can see where not hearing anything in 3 1/2 years other than two
people asking 'Is this still a problem with the newest version of
Wine?' would be a little frustrating and eventually I'd simply forget
what I put in the system.

Sorry.

- Mark
Dan Kegel

CDROM detect failed

Post by Dan Kegel »

On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:04 AM, Mark Knecht <[email protected]> wrote:
I didn't say anything because after 3 1/2 years since I entered the
bug report I had simply forgotten.
No worries, I do things like that all the time.
This specific game used to fail completely. Now it works since at
least 0.9.30. That's a big improvement. However as a user type I hope
you can see where not hearing anything in 3 1/2 years other than two
people asking 'Is this still a problem with the newest version of
Wine?' would be a little frustrating and eventually I'd simply forget
what I put in the system.
True, users who are not developers will find it frustrating.
It's a lot of work.

By the way, we now frown on pasting in long logs in bugzilla,
next time please attach them instead. We should change
bugzilla to give people more help there.
- Dan
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:10 AM, Dan Kegel <[email protected]> wrote:
On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:04 AM, Mark Knecht <[email protected]> wrote:
I didn't say anything because after 3 1/2 years since I entered the
bug report I had simply forgotten.
No worries, I do things like that all the time.

This specific game used to fail completely. Now it works since at
least 0.9.30. That's a big improvement. However as a user type I hope
you can see where not hearing anything in 3 1/2 years other than two
people asking 'Is this still a problem with the newest version of
Wine?' would be a little frustrating and eventually I'd simply forget
what I put in the system.
True, users who are not developers will find it frustrating.
It's a lot of work.

By the way, we now frown on pasting in long logs in bugzilla,
next time please attach them instead. We should change
bugzilla to give people more help there.
- Dan
I tried to actually. When I copied the backtrace data from the
terminal into a vi file it became unreadable by inserting more and
more tab characters on each line. Line 1 got 1 tab, line 2 got 2 tabs,
etc. After a few lines it was all wrapped around and completely
useless.

I've seen this before on a number of my Linux systems. I've never
tried to figure out what causes it but if you know a solution I could
go back and clean it up.

Cheers,
Mark
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: CDROM detect failed

Post by vitamin »

Mark Knecht wrote:I tried to actually. When I copied the backtrace data from the
terminal into a vi file it became unreadable by inserting more and
more tab characters on each line. Line 1 got 1 tab, line 2 got 2 tabs,
etc. After a few lines it was all wrapped around and completely
useless.

Code: Select all

wine progy.exe &> /tmp/wine_log.txt
always works.
Mark Knecht

CDROM detect failed

Post by Mark Knecht »

On Wed, Mar 5, 2008 at 7:33 AM, vitamin <[email protected]> wrote:
Mark Knecht wrote:
I tried to actually. When I copied the backtrace data from the
terminal into a vi file it became unreadable by inserting more and
more tab characters on each line. Line 1 got 1 tab, line 2 got 2 tabs,
etc. After a few lines it was all wrapped around and completely
useless.

Code:
wine progy.exe &> /tmp/wine_log.txt

always works.
Thanks.
felix
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:04 am

CDROM detect failed

Post by felix »

On Wed, Mar 05, 2008 at 07:16:38AM -0800, Mark Knecht wrote:
I tried to actually. When I copied the backtrace data from the
terminal into a vi file it became unreadable by inserting more and
more tab characters on each line. Line 1 got 1 tab, line 2 got 2 tabs,
etc. After a few lines it was all wrapped around and completely
useless.

I've seen this before on a number of my Linux systems. I've never
tried to figure out what causes it but if you know a solution I could
go back and clean it up.

Cheers,
Mark
Depends on what version of vi/vim you use, but it is usually caused by
autoindent trying to be "too smart".

Working around it is pretty simple,
type the following in command mode
:set paste
switch to insert mode and paste
switch back to command mode and type
:set nopaste

See http://vim.sourceforge.net/tips/tip.php?tip_id=330


--
Darragh

"Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool."
Locked