AutoCAD and Wine

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Building wine for autocad... part 2

Post by miciomax »

Before I forgot to tell that ' make install' must be done as super user, so

Code: Select all

sudo make install
Well, now the patches.
Before patching, it's better to test that all previous stuffs where ok; to do so, just run winecfg; if wine configuration screen appears, it's ok.

Remember, from previous commands you have still a terminal opened inside wine-git folder.
Now, we must get 2 needed patches :

Code: Select all

wget http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?id=14003 -O glpatch
wget http://bugs.winehq.org/attachment.cgi?id=14115 -O shellpatch
Apply the patches to wine three :

Code: Select all

patch -p1 < glpatch
patch -p1 < shellpatch
Rebuild wine... this will take much short time than before :

Code: Select all

make
sudo make install
Now wine is built and installed with patches. Don't hurry and wait for next post....

Max
ruelle
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 8:59 am

Post by ruelle »

thanks max!!!! :wink: :wink:
Timeout
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:45 pm

Post by Timeout »

ruelle wrote:thanks max!!!! :wink: :wink:
Dear Ruelle,

Once you have installed autocad, could you send a snippet of the log where you had your error?
I try to replicate on my own software but none of the proposed solution had cleared the problem with the assembly and since your error messages were 1:1 the same as for me I would be interested to know if it works and if so to try to think out why. Neither Shlwapi.dll nor gdiplus have cleared the problem with the license server.
ruelle
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 8:59 am

Post by ruelle »

i'm trying with max's tutorial but it stops here:

Code: Select all

ruelle@a7jc:~$ git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git wine
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/ruelle/wine/.git/
source.winehq.org[0: 209.46.25.134]: errno=Connection timed out
fatal: unable to connect a socket (Connection timed out)
fetch-pack from 'git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git' failed.
ruell@a7jc:~$ 
:cry:

maybe university firewall???
Last edited by ruelle on Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

Now some tricky stuffs. It's MUCH better (IMO) to have each wine application installed in a "separate bottle", i.e. in a different wineprefix, as some dll overrides that work for one can made another unusable.
So, inside terminal (you have it still open, do you ? :-) ):

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX=/home/yourusername/.wine-acad
where 'yourusername' is, strangely, Your User Name !
Now configure wine... just the audio stuff, rest is ok for now

Code: Select all

winecfg
Now you NEED a dll from windows xp, in detail 'shlwapi.dll'. If you don't, you'll run autocad
but you'll be NOT able to register it, so just demo mode.
Well, grab the dll and copy it inside

Code: Select all

~/.wine-acad/drive_c/windows/system32
now, again configure wine and set shlwapi.dll as NATIVE :

Code: Select all

winecfg
(select Libraries, then dig and find shlwapi and set it as native)
Now, inside the terminal, CD to your autocad install folder (can be on cd or on a local copy), where the 'setup.exe' file is located.
BEWARE, don't close terminal, or if you did you must do again the

Code: Select all

export WINEPREFIX=/home/yourusername/.wine-acad
Before installing, last step....using winetricks you MUST install DOTNET20 and MSXML3.

Code: Select all

wget http://www.kegel.com/wine/winetricks
./winetricks (and select COREFONTS, DOTNET2.0 and MSXML3)
Now, just install autocad as usual :

Code: Select all

wine setup
Now you can close terminal; you can create a launcher on desktop to run autocad; the command line is

Code: Select all

env WINEPREFIX="/home/yourusername/.wine-acad"  wine "C:/Programmi/AutoCAD 2005/acad.exe"
Well, if you've got english, replace 'Programmi' with 'Program Files', of course.

Ciao

Max
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

ruelle wrote:i'm trying with max's tutorial but it stops here:

Code: Select all

ruelle@a7jc:~$ git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git wine
Initialized empty Git repository in /home/ruelle/wine/.git/
source.winehq.org[0: 209.46.25.134]: errno=Connection timed out
fatal: unable to connect a socket (Connection timed out)
fetch-pack from 'git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git' failed.
ruell@a7jc:~$ 
:cry:

maybe university firewall???
From http://wiki.winehq.org/GitWine#head-bc3 ... 154861c7c9 :

Code: Select all

2.2. Cloning the Wine Git repository

Checking out from the WineHQ Git repository:

git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git ~/wine-git
cd ~/wine-git

For older versions of git, or if you are stuck behind a firewall with an uncooperative proxy, you may need to replace git: with http:. 
again, RTFM.... there's plenty of howtos on the web....

Max
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

Last but not least... For 2008 you'll need GDIPLUS (IIRC....) and anyways many stuffs are broken. And, it's also slower than 2005, without bringing too many advantages... Directx acceleration works but it's slower than with no accel, so better disable it.
Directx is a crap that microsoft invented to tie programmers to windows, as .NET.
Much better use an autocad version that supports WELL opengl.

Ciao

Max
ruelle
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 8:59 am

Post by ruelle »

sorry, "Don't become angry
I'm triyng but I cannot configure it:

Code: Select all

ruelle@a7jc:~/wine-git$ ./configure --prefix=/usr 
bash: ./configure: Nessun file o directory
when the patch will be included on the next release???
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

ruelle wrote:sorry, "Don't become angry
I'm triyng but I cannot configure it:

Code: Select all

ruelle@a7jc:~/wine-git$ ./configure --prefix=/usr 
bash: ./configure: Nessun file o directory
when the patch will be included on the next release???
I don't know... first one should be correct, second one fixes the problem but I don't know if it's the right way.
BTW, configure script should be inside your wine three... if it's missing, something went wrong.

Max
epsilon_da
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:07 pm

Post by epsilon_da »

The tutorial doesnt work for AutoCAD 2007.

This is the error:

Code: Select all

fixme:msi:ACTION_CustomAction Rollback only action... rollbacks not supported yet
fixme:msi:ACTION_CustomAction Rollback only action... rollbacks not supported yet

...

fixme:msi:ACTION_CustomAction Rollback only action... rollbacks not supported yet
fixme:msi:ACTION_CustomAction Rollback only action... rollbacks not supported yet
fixme:msi:msi_unimplemented_action_stub RemoveFolders -> 4 ignored L"CreateFolder" table values
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144

...

err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
err:setupapi:do_file_copyW Unsupported style(s) 0x144
fixme:userenv:GetProfilesDirectoryA 0x33fbb4 0x33fce0
fixme:userenv:GetUserProfileDirectoryA 0x10 0x33fbb4 0x33fce0
fixme:userenv:GetProfilesDirectoryA 0x33fbb4 0x33fce0
fixme:userenv:GetUserProfileDirectoryA 0x1c 0x33fbb4 0x33fce0
fixme:sfc:SfcIsFileProtected ((nil), L"C:\\Archivos de programa\\Autodesk\\Autodesk DWF Viewer\\AdImagingServices3.dll") stub
fixme:sfc:SfcIsFileProtected ((nil), L"C:\\Archivos de programa\\Autodesk\\Autodesk DWF Viewer\\Setup.exe") stub
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnSaveCompleted (0x13a838)->(L"C:\\windows\\profiles\\All Users\\Men\00fa Inicio\\Programas\\Autodesk\\Autodesk DWF Viewer - Espa\00f1ol.lnk")
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnGetCurFile (0x13a838)
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnSaveCompleted (0x13a838)->(L"C:\\windows\\profiles\\All Users\\Men\00fa Inicio\\Autodesk DWF Viewer - Espa\00f1ol.lnk")
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnGetCurFile (0x13a838)
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnSaveCompleted (0x13a838)->(L"C:\\windows\\profiles\\All Users\\Escritorio\\Autodesk DWF Viewer - Espa\00f1ol.lnk")
fixme:shell:IPersistFile_fnGetCurFile (0x13a838)
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
fixme:shell:DllCanUnloadNow stub
fixme:advapi:DecryptFileA "C:\\windows\\temp\\IXP000.TMP\\" 00000000
fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null) L"diego" (nil) 0x33f7fc (nil) 0x33f800 0x33f7f4 - stub
fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null) L"diego" 0x616a30 0x33f7fc 0x6189a0 0x33f800 0x33f7f4 - stub
err:msi:ITERATE_Actions Execution halted, action L"SetupWizard" returned 1603
And the error seems to be handled by the installer because it says "there was an unexpected error" or similar in spanish.

Also tryed with gdiplus and does the same.
qwertymn
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:42 am

Post by qwertymn »

>The tutorial doesnt work for AutoCAD 2007.

Yeah, also the trial 2007 had that, that's yet another bug in msi i guess. I worked around it using stupid hack below. The trial started for me, didn't test anything further



diff --git a/dlls/msi/action.c b/dlls/msi/action.c
index 67f06df..47fc2c9 100644
--- a/dlls/msi/action.c
+++ b/dlls/msi/action.c
@@ -865,8 +865,8 @@ static UINT ITERATE_Actions(MSIRECORD *row, LPVOID param)
if (rc == ERROR_FUNCTION_NOT_CALLED)
rc = ERROR_SUCCESS;

- if (rc != ERROR_SUCCESS)
- ERR("Execution halted, action %s returned %i\n", debugstr_w(action), rc);
+ if (rc != ERROR_SUCCESS){ rc=ERROR_SUCCESS;
+ ERR("Execution halted, action %s returned %i\n", debugstr_w(action), rc);}

return rc;
}
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

Look at bugs db... it's all explained.
You can INSTALL autocad 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2008.
Autocad 2007 DON'T installs, it's another bug.
Then, at least for me, autocad 2006 crashes when run, so only 2005 and 2008 remains.
2008 CAN be used, but has many caveats... 2005 is perfect.

Max
Timeout
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:45 pm

Post by Timeout »

Have you tried installing a localized version of Autocad (or on a non English Wine).

Look like some of the errors by the .NET are thrown because of the installer trying to adapt itself to a localized environment as I can take that ruelle is using a Spanish Autocad/running Wine in Spanish.

Quote from Microsoft:
The ResourceManager class looks up culture-specific resources, provides resource fallback when a localized resource does not exist, and supports resource serialization.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... nager.aspx
Dotan Cohen

autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Dotan Cohen »

Don't forget to write to Autodesk and let them know that we would like
AutoCAD for Linux. Here is their contact page:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/in ... id=1073074

If we don't write to the software developers, then they will have no
way of knowing that there is demand for their products in Linux.

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
vitamin
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6605
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: autocad 2008 and wine

Post by vitamin »

[quote="Dotan Cohen"]Don't forget to write to Autodesk and let them know that we would like
AutoCAD for Linux. Here is their contact page:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/in ... id=1073074

If we don't write to the software developers, then they will have no
way of knowing that there is demand for their products in Linux.

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
Timeout
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:45 pm

Re: autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Timeout »

Dotan Cohen wrote:
If we don't write to the software developers, then they will have no
way of knowing that there is demand for their products in Linux.
Even if they knew, do you think it changes a thing??
Like Trados, clients have been asking for it FOR YEARS, it's even on they official wish list #5 with 40 individual clients (for sure highly paying since the price of the software in its full version probably match the one of Autocad) officially requesting it.

And what did they do? They accepted nearly all wishes for the next release EXCEPT a version for Linux. This places a version for Linux #1 for the remaining wishes. Do you think it would come then? I don't think I could hope.

I think if every of these individuals voted on Wine/Crossover it would make more difference than on the developer's website.

Edit: I have at least one other translator who firmly told me he would install it on Wine. His problem is that he has a new quadro-processor not supported by the kernel but as soon as it does, he will take my advices to install it on Wine because he usually otherwise work on Linux.
Dotan Cohen

autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Dotan Cohen »

2008/6/21 Timeout <[email protected]>:
If we don't write to the software developers, then they will have no
way of knowing that there is demand for their products in Linux.
Even if they knew, do you think it changes a thing??
Yes, I think that it does. It worked with ATI, and it worked with
Dell. Linux will _never_ have professional software written for it if
the software developers think that nobody is interested.

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

Linux will NEVER have a native autocad version, at least as long as 90% of users use Windows.
Autodesk made 3 important choices that made impossible to port his products to Linux with a manageable (I.E. rentable...) effort :

1) Hard usage of MFC
2) (totally unneeded) usage of .NET
3) (absolutely unneeded) usage of DIRECTX

Porting Autocad natively to Linux would mean drop about 10 years of development and restart with a portable toolkit, which could be QT, GTK or whathever.
Do you really think they'd ever think to do such a job for less than 10% potential users ?
The ONLY viable way for us to have autocad is through wine.
Better would be to have a (big) team of developers and make an opensource alternative... but all what have been tryed in past years aborted miserabily.

BTW, I haven't seen such great improvements on releases past 2005... yes, as M$ Office, many many eyecandy, bigger (in terms of hdd usage / dvd sizes) releases but... 99.9% of what you need it's on AutoCAD2005. Which, BTW, is noticeably faster and less resource-hungry than 2006,2007, 2008 and 2009.

Max
Dotan Cohen

autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Dotan Cohen »

2008/6/21 miciomax <[email protected]>:
Linux will NEVER have a native autocad version, at least as long as 90% of users use Windows.
Autodesk made 3 important choices that made impossible to port his products to Linux with a manageable (I.E. rentable...) effort :

1) Hard usage of MFC
2) (totally unneeded) usage of .NET
3) (absolutely unneeded) usage of DIRECTX

Porting Autocad natively to Linux would mean drop about 10 years of development and restart with a portable toolkit, which could be QT, GTK or whathever.
Do you really think they'd ever think to do such a job for less than 10% potential users ?
The ONLY viable way for us to have autocad is through wine.
Better would be to have a (big) team of developers and make an opensource alternative... but all what have been tryed in past years aborted miserabily.

Max
You and I do not know when the next clean-sheet version of AutoCAD
will be designed. Even if it is in 10 year's time, let that be after
10 years of people asking for a Linux version. It takes literally
three minutes to write to them to express your interest, and it could
save future engineers (yourself and I included) lots of headaches. If
we don't speak up, then the next version of AutoCAD just might not
work with wine, and then what will you do? Buy Windows?

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Re: autocad 2008 and wine

Post by miciomax »

Dotan Cohen wrote: .......
If we don't speak up, then the next version of AutoCAD just might not
work with wine, and then what will you do? Buy Windows?

Dotan Cohen
Nope.
I'll stay with a version that DOES work in wine waiting for a native opensource alternative.
IMHO, we've got twice the probability to have an opensource autrocad-like app in linux than a port of autocad.... Knowing a bit of MFC/DOTNET/DIRECTX, I'm sure that it'll be easier by far to write a cad from scratch than port autocad on linux.

And, if we REALLY want a good alternative, instead of whining in front of autodesk's door we should try to start a true (and maybe sponsored) autocad-like opensource project.
IMHO, in 10 years we could have an even better alternative than autocad.

BTW, I'm using cad since the first beginning (about 20 years ago), and I'm quite happy with autocad 2005; I leave fancy eyecandies of post-2005 to people that like them.
Speaking about "newer" and "better" (???) apps, I'd like to know somebody that really uses some "new and better" stuffs in office 2003+ that office 97 doesn't have.... Me not, for sure. Even whorse, I was fighting each day with that damn'd autocorrect-autobullet-autoidiot stuff embedded in office 2003, which IMHO is made by english language ill-minded programmers that think that we must all write letters in english and because of that we need an app that uppercases each "i" letter for us.... Do we really need that ???
Before migrating to openoffice, I resorted to open notepad, write my texts on it and cut-and-paste to M$ Weird, to avoid autodummy stuffs.
And it was NOT enough to disable the autostuffs, they got re-enabled after some time autoidiotically... do you still think that's a "better" app ? me not.
Same thing of autocad 2008/9. What do you USE that's not in 2005 ? The supercustomizable interface ? The autohighlight of entities when cursor passes over them ? Auto linked cross sections of 3d objects that are so slow to be unusable ? New .net programming ? DirectX support ? (oh, wow, we've got dx support, how wonderful, it doesn't matter if it's slower than opengl, IT'S DIRECTX !!!!) Or maybe you MUST use it because other people do use it and send to you dwg that you can't open in 2005 because they're incompatible ?
I guess the latter is the answer.....

Max
epsilon_da
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:07 pm

Post by epsilon_da »

That's right, office apps haven't changed since DOS times. But the new ones takes much more memory and changes the UI which is mostly an standard for editors. Microsoft 2007 is an aberration, what interface can be more un-standard? In windows i install Office XP when a windozer ask for it because M$O97 haves its drawing problems.


About starting a new AutoCAD clone. I am an electronics student and i want to start an open Electronic CAD, which in some parts share the same widgets as a complete CAD. So it can be a joined project. Making good CAD widget can be made multiple kinds of CADs for different applications.
How many here are interested to start such a project?
Dotan Cohen

autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Dotan Cohen »

2008/6/22 miciomax <[email protected]>:
Nope.
I'll stay with a version that DOES work in wine waiting for a native opensource alternative.
So, you want to use AutoCAD in Linux, but you do not want to ask the
developers to write a Linux version. Even if you prefer the older
interface (which, regarding Solidworks, so do I), you do realize that
in some years time you will be forced to upgrade to be compatible with
you coworkers, no? Other than the UI, lots of things change from
version to version and new features are always added. Even if you
don't want to use it, you should promote the development of
professional software for Linux.
IMHO, we've got twice the probability to have an opensource
autrocad-like app in linux than a port of autocad.... Knowing a bit
of MFC/DOTNET/DIRECTX, I'm sure that it'll be by easier by far
to write a cad from scratch than port autocad on linux.
That does NOT mean that AutoDesk cannot develop AutoCAD for Linux.
Until there exists a real, professional-grade CAD system for Linux
that is compatible with what is used in industry today, we must tell
the makers of the tools we use that we want to use them on Linux. And
we _do_ want to use them on Linux, otherwise Wine would not exist.
And, if we REALLY want a good alternative, instead of whining
in front of autodesk's door we should try to start a true (and maybe
sponsored) autocad-like opensource project.
IMHO, in 10 years we could have an even better alternative than autocad.
I'm all for it. You show me the project, the timeline until there is a
useable product that is Solidworks compatible, and I will donate
accordingly. What should I use in the meantime?
BTW, I'm using cad since the first beginning (about 20 years ago),
and I'm quite happy with autocad 2005; I leave fancy eyecandies of
post-2005 to people that like them.
Actually, I like them. But I'm 30 years old, and many engineers are
younger than I, so it may just appeal to use noobs. Like compiz.

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
Dotan Cohen

autocad 2008 and wine

Post by Dotan Cohen »

2008/6/22 epsilon_da <[email protected]>:
About starting a new AutoCAD clone. I am an electronics student
and i want to start an open Electronic CAD, which in some parts
share the same widgets as a complete CAD. So it can be a joined
project. Making good CAD widget can be made multiple kinds of
CADs for different applications.
How many here are interested to start such a project?
I am interested. You draft a proposal for a working,
Solidworks-compatible application and I'll start donating. I need to
know when I will have a usable product. By usable, I mean that I can
do my development in a fashion similar to how is done in Solid, and
that I can exchange files with other Solid users without giving them
excuses.

Dotan Cohen

http://what-is-what.com
http://gibberish.co.il
×
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Re: autocad 2008 and wine

Post by miciomax »

Dotan Cohen wrote:2008/6/22 miciomax <[email protected]>:
Nope.
I'll stay with a version that DOES work in wine waiting for a native opensource alternative.
So, you want to use AutoCAD in Linux, but you do not want to ask the
developers to write a Linux version.
Let's say that if I have to loose my time, I've got many many more interesting ways to do it :-)
Even if you prefer the older interface (which, regarding Solidworks, so do I), you do realize that in some years time you will be forced to upgrade to be compatible with
you coworkers, no?
Well, I don't agree 100%. It's true that on last year I started receiving dwgs that my good old 2005 can't open, but they don't use ANY of the new superfancy features of 2006+.
They're just incompatible because use a different file format. So, I went here ;
http://www.dwggateway.com/
And.... problem solved. My old-good-fast 2005 now can open 2008 files, and I'm sure that it'll open version 2256 files too in the future.
Other than the UI, lots of things change from
version to version and new features are always added. Even if you
don't want to use it, you should promote the development of
professional software for Linux.
The only, really only feature I miss in 2005 that 2006 has is quoting of arc lengths.
BTW, I hate the "autohighlight-of-objects-when-mouse-passes-over-them", just eyecandy that's completely useless and slows down work.
So, I wrote my small autolisp app that does quote arc lenghts.
About promoting development of software on Linux, I agree. But that one won't come from autodesk side.
What we really need by now is the opening of dwg format. Opening means making it truly opened, not as dwgdirect did, that's jjust having a second monopole targeted at non-windows platform. We need this because autocad dwg IS the standard, and you can't work without it, by now.
IMHO, we've got twice the probability to have an opensource
autrocad-like app in linux than a port of autocad.... Knowing a bit
of MFC/DOTNET/DIRECTX, I'm sure that it'll be by easier by far
to write a cad from scratch than port autocad on linux.
That does NOT mean that AutoDesk cannot develop AutoCAD for Linux.
Until there exists a real, professional-grade CAD system for Linux
that is compatible with what is used in industry today, we must tell
the makers of the tools we use that we want to use them on Linux. And
we _do_ want to use them on Linux, otherwise Wine would not exist.
for that wine exists, and does a really great job. What I don't understant is the focus on porting crapp MS apps like office, IExplorer, Outlook (the infamous "I want virus! I need it!" app...).
In Linux we miss :
1) Good dwg-compatible cad (with full 3d support)
2) Good HTML WISYWIG editor (something like dreamweaver, I mean)
3) Some vertical apps, but on those I think is a good idea to ask sw-houses to port to
linux, as they don't have a so bread user pool, so it may be rentable for them to port.
4) Games. Yes, Linux widespreading must pass thru it. Many young people stay on windows because theyr preferred games don't run on linux.
We DON'T (imho....) need a crap M$ Office, Outlook, or so.
And, if we REALLY want a good alternative, instead of whining
in front of autodesk's door we should try to start a true (and maybe
sponsored) autocad-like opensource project.
IMHO, in 10 years we could have an even better alternative than autocad.
I'm all for it. You show me the project, the timeline until there is a
useable product that is Solidworks compatible, and I will donate
accordingly. What should I use in the meantime?
wine + autocad ? :-) that's what I'm doing.
Another choice (which I used before getting 2005 to run on wine) is vmware+xp+sutocad 2005. I know, it's quite dummy to have 1 GB ram + some 4-5 GB of HDD blocke just to run autocad, but....
BTW, I'm using cad since the first beginning (about 20 years ago),
and I'm quite happy with autocad 2005; I leave fancy eyecandies of
post-2005 to people that like them.
Actually, I like them. But I'm 30 years old, and many engineers are
younger than I, so it may just appeal to use noobs. Like compiz.
Well, I like Compiz, and very much.... but I'd not pay for it ! :-)

Max
miciomax
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 11:56 am

Post by miciomax »

epsilon_da wrote: About starting a new AutoCAD clone. I am an electronics student and i want to start an open Electronic CAD, which in some parts share the same widgets as a complete CAD. So it can be a joined project. Making good CAD widget can be made multiple kinds of CADs for different applications.
How many here are interested to start such a project?
Hemm... sorry but I've already heard many times that one... Just look on how many cad projects started and went to nothing. I must admit that I tried it too, some time ago... but it's too much for one person (well, if you own enough money that you can live without working, and if you prefere spend 8-10 ours a day on PC instead of going to the beach, maybe in 10 years you can....).

The only goot start I've seen in the past was intellicad one, it was opensource then, but... some "very intelligent" (??) people started to compile it, rename it and selling it as a propietary app, so intellicad consortium closed sources again.
One stuff that could be (realistically) done would be to join about 50-100 interested developers, join intellicad consortium (which costs money), join opendwg alliance, at source level (which cost much money) and start a true porting to linux.
Ah, I forgot, we'd need also a Spatial license for 3d.
BUT, developed cad couldn't be made opensource, because of non-disclosure agreements, so couldn't also not use gpl stuffs on it.... It could just be another closed source app targeted to linux/mac. Maybe not a bad idea, but economically not rentable, imho.

Max
Locked