wine + wow v4.0.3a

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Locked
NeutronMAMA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:44 am
Contact:

wine + wow v4.0.3a

Post by NeutronMAMA » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:48 am

problem is the following. WOW starts and runs but the image setting minimum and do not vary in what could be the problem?

snejjj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:25 am

Post by snejjj » Fri Jan 28, 2011 7:05 am

I don't understand what you are saying.

also we need more information:
what wine version?
what distribution?
what display driver?

describe your problem as good as you can.
what is the expected result?
what is the experienced result?

tparker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:06 pm

wine + wow v4.0.3a

Post by tparker » Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:21 am

On 01/28/2011 05:48 AM, NeutronMAMA wrote:
problem is the following. WOW starts and runs but the image setting minimum and do not vary in what could be the problem?
If you mean that the slider bar for the video settings it at the lowest
option (or close to it) then that is just the way it is, for a couple of
reasons. No matter how good your video card is, for now at least, you
are probably stuck with lowest or close to lowest graphics in WoW.
Blizzard ties some of the options for graphics to the reported memory on
your card and Wine doesn't report that number correctly. There are
instructions on the some of the related webpages (I don't remember if it
is the appdb or the wiki) to manually set the video memory to try and
fix this. I have never been able to get that to make a difference, but
that could be my hardware so it may be worth researching to see if it
helps you. Also, some of the new graphic features in WoW require a newer
version of directX than Wine is up to yet.

NeutronMAMA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:44 am
Contact:

Post by NeutronMAMA » Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:16 pm

snejjj wrote:I don't understand what you are saying.

also we need more information:
what wine version?
what distribution?
what display driver?

describe your problem as good as you can.
what is the expected result?
what is the experienced result?

Code: Select all

[I] app-emulation/wine
     Available versions:  1.2!t 1.2.1!t ~1.2.2!t ~1.3.0!t ~1.3.1!t ~1.3.2!t ~1.3.3!t ~1.3.4!t ~1.3.5!t ~1.3.6!t ~1.3.7!t ~1.3.8!t ~1.3.9!t ~1.3.10!t ~1.3.11!t **9999!t {+X alsa capi cups custom-cflags dbus esd fontconfig +gecko gnutls gphoto2 gsm gstreamer hal jack jpeg lcms ldap mp3 nas ncurses nls openal +opengl +oss +perl png pulseaudio samba scanner ssl test +threads +truetype +win32 (+)win64 xcomposite xinerama xml}                                                                                
     Installed versions:  1.2.1!t(13:59:03 28.01.2011)(X alsa dbus gecko jpeg lcms ldap mp3 ncurses opengl oss perl png ssl threads truetype win32 win64 xml -capi -cups -custom-cflags -esd -fontconfig -gnutls -gphoto2 -gsm -hal -jack -nas -openal -pulseaudio -samba -scanner -test -xcomposite -xinerama)
     Homepage:            http://www.winehq.org/
     Description:         free implementation of Windows(tm) on Unix


[I] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers
     Available versions:  96.43.16!s 96.43.18!s 96.43.19!s 173.14.25!s 173.14.27!s 173.14.28!s ~190.53-r1!s 195.36.24!s 195.36.31!s ~256.44!s ~256.44-r1!s ~256.52!s ~256.53!s ~260.19.21!s [M]~260.19.26!s 260.19.29!s ~260.19.36!s [M]~270.18!s {acpi custom-cflags gtk kernel_linux multilib}                                                
     Installed versions:  260.19.29!s(15:04:31 28.01.2011)(acpi kernel_linux multilib -custom-cflags -gtk)

OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 230M/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 260.19.29
OpenGL shading language version string: 3.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
Gentoo.

The problem is that the next in the game settings it asks me to turn on shading 3 models. But for him answers as I know opengl which must be activated using the-opengl. how to solve this problem do not understand. Some settings are placed on a high level and some have remained at their lowest due to behold it.

eddie
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:55 pm

Post by eddie » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:13 pm

You cannot get the fancy shadows, water/liquid and sunshaft effects when using OpenGL. Blizzard has currently no support for it.

Locked