WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 18 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:29 am 
 
Hi. Newbie here. Read that Wine 1.2 will run .msiexec files and the
way to install it is as user in terminal window: cd Desktop, then type
msiexec /i filename. Is that right or should I do something else?
Thanks. Bob


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:15 pm 
Offline
Level 8
Level 8

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
cd to the dir where you downloaded the file. If that's ~/Desktop, cd there, otherwise cd to that other dir.

That command should be good. If it doesn't work, wine start filename.msi works too.


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:44 pm 
 
On 08/04/2010 01:15 PM, DaVince wrote:
Quote:
cd to the dir where you downloaded the file. If that's ~/Desktop, cd there, otherwise cd to that other dir.

That command should be good. If it doesn't work, wine start filename.msi works too.

benjie1@benjie1:~$ cd Desktop/
benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$ wine start ispq9.msi
fixme:exec:SHELL_execute flags ignored: 0x00000100
benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$ fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null)
L"benjie1" (nil) 0x33f160 (nil) 0x33f164 0x33f158 - stub
fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null) L"benjie1" 0x15bb60 0x33f160
0x131180 0x33f164 0x33f158 - stub
err:msi:ITERATE_Actions Execution halted, action
L"VSDCA_VsdLaunchConditions" returned 1603

This is what I got from cd to the desktop and then followed your
instructions as you can see. What is next? The program is a video
conferencing and the full name is ispq9.msi and it's on the desktop.
Thanks again. Bob
Quote:






Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:18 pm 
Offline
Level 8
Level 8

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:53 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
The output indicated that the file did indeed run (there's some actual Wine output there), but something somehow failed when Wine tried to run the installer.

I don't know what, though... I did a Google search on that last line and it only came with unsolved forum threads. You could go to bugs.winehq.org and file a bug about this (but make sure you search around if someone else didn't report something similar first).


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:04 am 
 
Thanks. Will look around a then maybe file a bug like you said. That
won't solve the problem however. Still won't be able to install it I
guess. Thanks Bob

DaVince wrote:

Quote:
The output indicated that the file did indeed run (there's some actual Wine output there), but something somehow failed when Wine tried to run the installer.

I don't know what, though... I did a Google search on that last line and it only came with unsolved forum threads. You could go to bugs.winehq.org and file a bug about this (but make sure you search around if someone else didn't report something similar first).









Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:43 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Bob Benjamin wrote:
Read that Wine 1.2 will run .msiexec files and the way to install it is as user in terminal window

What exactly are you trying to install?


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:07 am 
 
Hi Vitamin. I did try to run it as user in Ubuntu 10.04 and the
installer never opened. I will paste the terminal output here from both
ways I tried to run it. Also, I have a Solitaire game here (exe file)
and you experts told me to get the installer to work, set the emulator
in wine to Win 98. Did that and it's fine. Will that matter with the msi
file. I'm trying to run ispq9.msi which is on the Desktop. It's a video
conferencing program. Here's the terminal output as user. Thanks Newbie
here. Bob

benjie1@benjie1:~$ cd Desktop/
benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$ msiexec /i ispq9.msi
fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null) L"benjie1" (nil) 0x32f160 (nil)
0x32f164 0x32f158 - stub
fixme:advapi:LookupAccountNameW (null) L"benjie1" 0x17c650 0x32f160
0x1514f8 0x32f164 0x32f158 - stub
err:msi:ITERATE_Actions Execution halted, action
L"VSDCA_VsdLaunchConditions" returned 1603
benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$

benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$ wine ispq9.msi
wine: Bad EXE format for H:\ispq9.msi
benjie1@benjie1:~/Desktop$

That's all I know to try. The installer never showed at all. Thanks
for the help. Bob


On 08/05/2010 09:43 AM, vitamin wrote:
Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:

Quote:
Read that Wine 1.2 will run .msiexec files and the way to install it is as user in terminal window

What exactly are you trying to install?








Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 7831
Bob Benjamin wrote:
I have a Solitaire game here (exe file)
and you experts told me to get the installer to work, set the emulator
in wine to Win 98. Did that and it's fine. Will that matter with the msi
file.

It will matter if the app requires a newer version of Windows, which is likely. Set it back to XP and see what happens.

Windows versions can be set on a per-app basis in winecfg. Add your solitaire game to the Applications tab, select it, and set the Windows version just for that game. Keep the default global setting as XP, because that works best for most apps.


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:27 pm 
 
Thanks dimesio. The solitaire is fine with win 98 but tried XP
with the .msi file and get no installer at all no matter what I do. A
bit discouraging since I read that wine will run the msi file. Thanks
again. Bob

dimesio wrote:

Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:


Quote:
I have a Solitaire game here (exe file)
and you experts told me to get the installer to work, set the emulator
in wine to Win 98. Did that and it's fine. Will that matter with the msi
file.



It will matter if the app requires a newer version of Windows, which is likely. Set it back to XP and see what happens.

Windows versions can be set on a per-app basis in winecfg. Add your solitaire game to the Applications tab, select it, and set the Windows version just for that game. Keep the default global setting as XP, because that works best for most apps.








-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-users/attachments/20100805/53207514/attachment.htm>


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:11 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 6605
Bob Benjamin wrote:
It's a video conferencing program.

The name? Who made it? AppDB link?


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:38 am 
 
http://www.ispq.com The .msi file I have has been on my XP
drive for a year or more. Should I download it again from their website?
Maybe the file I have is corrupted ??? Tks Bob

On 08/06/2010 09:11 AM, vitamin wrote:
Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:

Quote:
It's a video conferencing program.

The name? Who made it? AppDB link?








Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:20 am 
 
Forgot, it's from NanoCorp and I sent the link previously. As
far as the name goes, I think it's called "I speak to you" or something
like that. They have a trial version. Could that be tried by you experts
in Wine to see if the installer will come up. I cant get it at all. I cd
Desktop, then msiexec /i ispq9.msi Have sent the terminal output of
that command to you earlier. Thanks again. Bob


On 08/06/2010 09:37 AM, Bob Benjamin wrote:
Quote:
http://www.ispq.com The .msi file I have has been on my XP
drive for a year or more. Should I download it again from their
website? Maybe the file I have is corrupted ??? Tks Bob

On 08/06/2010 09:11 AM, vitamin wrote:
Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:
Quote:
It's a video conferencing program.
The name? Who made it? AppDB link?









Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:13 pm 
 
More info. In Wine, clicking Drive_C brings up a box with "files of
type" and a drop down arrow. The only files there are .exe and .exe.so
Nothing else drops down. No .msi. Adding the ispq9.msi doesn't help.
Wonder if this means Wine doesn't accept or know about the .msi. If this
is a dumb question. it's because I'm a Newbie and really just guessing.
Tks for the help and patience! :-) Bob

On 08/06/2010 10:19 AM, Bob Benjamin wrote:
Quote:
Forgot, it's from NanoCorp and I sent the link previously. As
far as the name goes, I think it's called "I speak to you" or
something like that. They have a trial version. Could that be tried by
you experts in Wine to see if the installer will come up. I cant get
it at all. I cd Desktop, then msiexec /i ispq9.msi Have sent the
terminal output of that command to you earlier. Thanks again. Bob


On 08/06/2010 09:37 AM, Bob Benjamin wrote:
Quote:
http://www.ispq.com The .msi file I have has been on my XP
drive for a year or more. Should I download it again from their
website? Maybe the file I have is corrupted ??? Tks Bob

On 08/06/2010 09:11 AM, vitamin wrote:
Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:
Quote:
It's a video conferencing program.
The name? Who made it? AppDB link?











Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 7831
Bob Benjamin wrote:
More info. In Wine, clicking Drive_C brings up a box with "files of
type" and a drop down arrow. The only files there are .exe and .exe.so
Nothing else drops down. No .msi. Adding the ispq9.msi doesn't help.
Wonder if this means Wine doesn't accept or know about the .msi. If this
is a dumb question. it's because I'm a Newbie and really just guessing.
Tks for the help and patience! :-) Bob

You said the msi file was on your desktop. That's not part of wine's fake C: drive.

I downloaded the file and got the same results as you. File a bug.


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:06 pm 
 
OK Will do. Any chance that it would work in Fedora fc 13?
Tks Bob

On 08/06/2010 02:54 PM, dimesio wrote:
Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:

Quote:
More info. In Wine, clicking Drive_C brings up a box with "files of
type" and a drop down arrow. The only files there are .exe and .exe.so
Nothing else drops down. No .msi. Adding the ispq9.msi doesn't help.
Wonder if this means Wine doesn't accept or know about the .msi. If this
is a dumb question. it's because I'm a Newbie and really just guessing.
Tks for the help and patience! :-) Bob


You said the msi file was on your desktop. That's not part of wine's fake C: drive.

I downloaded the file and got the same results as you. File a bug.








Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 7831
Bob Benjamin wrote:
OK Will do. Any chance that it would work in Fedora fc 13?

It's a Wine issue; changing distro won't help.


Top 
 Post subject: Installing .msiexec file
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 1:32 pm 
 
Filed the bug #614546. In the meantime would it help if I deleted
1.2 and installed 1.3? Bob

dimesio wrote:

Quote:
Bob Benjamin wrote:


Quote:
More info. In Wine, clicking Drive_C brings up a box with "files of
type" and a drop down arrow. The only files there are .exe and .exe.so
Nothing else drops down. No .msi. Adding the ispq9.msi doesn't help.
Wonder if this means Wine doesn't accept or know about the .msi. If this
is a dumb question. it's because I'm a Newbie and really just guessing.
Tks for the help and patience! :-) Bob




You said the msi file was on your desktop. That's not part of wine's fake C: drive.

I downloaded the file and got the same results as you. File a bug.








-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.winehq.org/pipermail/wine-users/attachments/20100807/d8180558/attachment.htm>


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 7831
Robert Benjamin wrote:
Filed the bug #614546. In the meantime would it help if I deleted
1.2 and installed 1.3?

File the bug here, not with your distro. It doesn't work in 1.3.0; that's what I'm using.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 18 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: