Rome Total War - Wine Install Omits Files

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
Cal

Rome Total War - Wine Install Omits Files

Post by Cal »

Please be gentle I'm a Wine newbie, and a relative newcomer to Linux/Ubuntu.

Using Wine version 1.0.1. Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid.

I have installed 'Rome Total War' through Wine using the multi-CD install. All seems to have completed normally. However on starting the application, when the main splash-screen is about to clear to go to the game options I get an error:-

filename doesn't exist data/animations/SG 01 idle 01.cas.

This has been noted by other Ubuntu users on Ubuntu forums and unresolved. I have found no mention here.

Any help much appreciated.
Last edited by Cal on Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
James Mckenzie

Rome Total War - SG 01 idle 01.cas

Post by James Mckenzie »

Please be gentle I'm a Wine newbie, and a relative newcomer to Linux/Ubuntu.

Using Wine version 1.0.1. Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid.

I have installed 'Rome Total War' through Wine using the multi-CD install. All seems to have completed normally. However on starting the application, when the main splash-screen is about to clear to go to the game options I get an error:-

filename doesn't exist data/animations/SG 01 idle 01.cas.
Did you check the Applications Database for a possible solution to this before posting?

James McKenzie
Cal

Post by Cal »

Did you check the Applications Database for a possible solution to this before posting?
Yes. That was where I got the help on how to get the multiple-CD install working.

I just hoped someone here might have some other ideas.

Cheers
Cal

Post by Cal »

Further investigation suggests this is due to the install process under Wine omitting to create or copy certain files from the CDs.