WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:32 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:02 am
Posts: 2
Hi All;

I have just successfully installed Microsoft:
Age of Empires II,
Age of Empires II-Conquerors expansion,
Age of Empires III
on Wine 1.3.7.

No dll overides, no pissing about nothing, just dropped in the CD, mapped it to using winecfg and installed.

Empires II installed directly from disk and would not run after the install until I applied the no_Cd_patch and not are fine.

AoEIII has 3 CDs so copied all files to a directory and installed.

Now, to get wine to behave itself, I have set the graphics up to be in a 1280x1024 window and works fine from my calling script:

#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
wine age3.exe

Now, I don't want all of wine to be in a 1280x1024 window, only the games so, I set winecfg to turn off the virtual desktop and changed my script to this:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
wine -desktop 1280x1024 age3.exe

But it didn't work, the virtual desktop appeared then disappeared and I get this on the command line:
jserink@jserinki7 ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III $ wine -desktop=1280x1024 age3.exe
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x88982F81 initializing encoder
wine: cannot find L"C:\\windows\\system32\\-desktop=1280x1024.exe"

its pretty obvious that it things "-desktop" is a windows app.
I have tried 2 dashes, an equals sing between the desktop and the resolution but its always the same.


Any ideas on how I could do this?

Cheers,
john


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:18 am 
Offline
Level 4
Level 4

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 191
Location: Quebec
You should use the latest development version : 1.4-rc1


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:10 am 
Offline
Level 3
Level 3

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:25 am
Posts: 63
just try it with two "-" in front of desktop, as usually verbose options are preceeded with "--"

your command line should thus be

Code:
wine --desktop 1280x1024 age3.exe


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 4:01 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:10 pm
Posts: 91
http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-dba86ae ... af45e8119c


Top 
 Post subject: Ok, solved
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:53 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:02 am
Posts: 2
Hi All;

Ok, updated to:
jserink@jserinki7 ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III $ wine --version
wine-1.4-rc1

Now, this worked, but:
http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-dba86ae ... af45e8119c

I first tried this:
wincfg and turn off virtual desktop,
wine explorer /desktop="Age of Empires III",1280x1024 age3.exe

This ran a virtual desktop at 800x600 that was blue inside, no app running and the name in the boarder was "Age".

Changed the command line to:
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_III,1280x1024 age3.exe

And it all works perfect.

Here is my startup batch file for AoE III:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires III/"
#wine age3.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_III,1280x1024 age3.exe

Here is my startup batch file for AoE II:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires II/"
#wine empires2.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_II,1280x1024 empires2.exe

Here is my startup batch file for AoE II Conquerers:
#!/bin/bash
cd "/home/jserink/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Microsoft Games/Age of Empires II/"
#wine age2_x1/age2_x1.exe
wine explorer /desktop=Age_of_Empires_II_Conquerers,1280x1024 age2_x1/age2_x1.exe


Thanx for pointing me to the FAQ.

Cheers,
John


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron