WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:34 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
I am running ubuntu 11.10 with wine-1.3.28. When I run the exe file for the service pack from a terminal window, after going through the EULA and extracting files, I finally get a little pop-up saying "The installation of this package failed". What is printed on the terminal window is right below here.
Code:
gallo@patada$ wine office2007sp3-kb2526086-fullfile-en-us.exe
fixme:storage:create_storagefile Storage share mode not implemented.
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
fixme:msi:determine_patch_sequence patch ordering not supported
err:msi:ACTION_InstallFiles Failed to copy L"C:\\windows\\Installer\\RosebudMUI.XML" to L"C:\\Program Files\\Common Files\\Microsoft Shared\\OFFICE12\\Office Setup Controller\\Rosebud.en-us\\RosebudMUI.XML" (2)

Thanks.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 8311
danielsender wrote:
I am running ubuntu 11.10 with wine-1.3.28. When I run the exe file for the service pack from a terminal window, after going through the EULA and extracting files, I finally get a little pop-up saying "The installation of this package failed".

SP3 installs fine here in 1.3.32. Upgrade and try again. Make sure it's a clean wineprefix--no winetricks or other tweaks.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:00 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
no luck, updated to 1.3.32 and I get exactly the same thing, sigh...


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 6:31 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
Strange, I have 2 machines running ubuntu 11.10, now both updated to wine-1.3.32. In one of them, sp3 for office doesn't work as shown above, in the other it worked, any clues?


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 8311
danielsender wrote:
Strange, I have 2 machines running ubuntu 11.10, now both updated to wine-1.3.32. In one of them, sp3 for office doesn't work as shown above, in the other it worked, any clues?

Try a fresh wineprefix.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
Does making a new WINEPREFIX is having some directory other than .wine?


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:52 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
one more thing: when I run "wineboot -u" I get the error:

err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd L"" (2)

would this explain the problem in running the SP3?


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:07 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 8311
danielsender wrote:
Does making a new WINEPREFIX is having some directory other than .wine?

If you want to keep your current .wine, yes. http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-faf9617 ... 522d490faf
Quote:
one more thing: when I run "wineboot -u" I get the error:

err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd L"" (2)

would this explain the problem in running the SP3?

No. I get a similar message.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:12 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
I will change WINEPREFIX but I would really like to know why I'm getting this problem, just in case for the future. Thanks for your help.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:01 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 20
I'm posting here what comes up on the terminal when I type "wineboot -u", perhaps someone has a new idea:
Code:
fixme:iphlpapi:NotifyAddrChange (Handle 0x21fe8fc, overlapped 0x21fe8e0): stub
wine: configuration in '/home/daniel/.wine' has been updated.
err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd L"" (2)
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:process:SetProcessShutdownParameters (00000100, 00000001): partial stub.
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:netapi32:NetGetJoinInformation Semi-stub (null) 0x33f710 0x33f6f0
fixme:winstation:OpenInputDesktop (0,0,2000000): stub
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
err:ole:create_server class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} could be created for context 0x17
fixme:ole:CoCreateInstance no instance created for interface {659ecad9-a5c0-11d2-a440-00c04f795683} of class {38639941-a780-4f5b-8017-8b361f9a29db}, hres is 0x80040154


The first "err" line saying:
Code:
"err:wineboot:ProcessRunKeys Error running cmd L"" (2)

does not appear on the machine that correctly installs.

Thanks.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 8311
danielsender wrote:
Code:
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:process:SetProcessShutdownParameters (00000100, 00000001): partial stub.
fixme:heap:HeapSetInformation 0x110000 1 (nil) 0
fixme:netapi32:NetGetJoinInformation Semi-stub (null) 0x33f710 0x33f6f0
fixme:winstation:OpenInputDesktop (0,0,2000000): stub
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
err:ole:CoGetClassObject class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
err:ole:create_server class {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} not registered
fixme:ole:CoGetClassObject CLSCTX_REMOTE_SERVER not supported
err:ole:CoGetClassObject no class object {f9b4bdee-7081-476e-a09c-bf54dc18f837} could be created for context 0x17
fixme:ole:CoCreateInstance no instance created for interface {659ecad9-a5c0-11d2-a440-00c04f795683} of class {38639941-a780-4f5b-8017-8b361f9a29db}, hres is 0x80040154


I don't see any of this when I run wineboot -u on my Office 2007 wineprefix.

The probable cause is that you have installed something to that wineprefix that messed it up; that's why I suggested a clean one. Have you tried that yet? If the clean one works, then you can try to isolate what it is that messed up the old one by reinstalling apps one by one, and if it doesn't, then we know the problem lies in some other difference between the two systems.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:25 am
Posts: 1
dimesio wrote:
danielsender wrote:
Does making a new WINEPREFIX is having some directory other than .wine?

If you want to keep your current .wine, yes. http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-faf9617 ... 522d490faf


That link is a bit confusing for me :(

I have Office 2007 installed and working with no service packs on Ubuntu 10.04.

If I wanted to install SP3, how do I achieve a fresh wineprefix? Do I simple delete the .wine folder?

Thanks.


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Posts: 8311
quagmire wrote:
If I wanted to install SP3, how do I achieve a fresh wineprefix? Do I simple delete the .wine folder?

That's one way to do it, but that will delete everything you have installed in Wine. If you have other apps you want to keep, create a different wineprefix following the instructions in the FAQ.

But have you even tried installing SP3 to your current wineprefix? You may not need to create a new one.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: