WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:57 pm
Posts: 3
Hi everyone,

I would like to ask you, whether is there a way to unlock a locked HDD (WD SmartWare) under Wine.

Under Windows it should be requesting the set password after it is connected (Autorun?). Under Linux (Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS 32-bit, running as Live CD) this cannot be achieved.

I am trying to run "autorun.inf" and "Unlock.exe" manually ("Open with Wine Windows Program Loader"), but Wine replies: "Application has encountered an unexpected error and is now exiting".

I also tried to run "sudo chown..." and "sudo chmod...", but the system replied: "Read-only file system" (that is UDF, by the way).

I also wanted to create a new partition, hoping that I could write into that one, but GParted could not even see it.

The solution is to find a Windows PC and unlock it (I know the password, of course), but I have none available at the moment.

Would anybody help?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:20 pm 
 
On Fri, Jul 1, 2011 at 5:15 PM, rastaman <wineforum-user@winehq.org> wrote:
Quote:
Hi everyone,

I would like to ask you, whether is there a way to unlock a locked HDD (WD SmartWare) under Wine.

Under Windows it should be requesting the set password after it is connected (Autorun?). Under Linux (Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS 32-bit, running as Live CD) this cannot be achieved.

I am trying to run "autorun.inf" and "Unlock.exe" manually ("Open with Wine Windows Program Loader"), but Wine replies: "Application has encountered an unexpected error and is now exiting".

I also tried to run "sudo chown..." and "sudo chmod...", but the system replied: "Read-only file system" (that is UDF, by the way).

I also wanted to create a new partition, hoping that I could write into that one, but GParted could not even see it.

The solution is to find a Windows PC and unlock it (I know the password, of course), but I have none available at the moment.

Would anybody help?


Wine does not allow you to run windows device drivers or talk directly
to hardware so I would believe this is very doubtful to get that to
work.

John


Top 
 Post subject: More details
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:57 pm
Posts: 3
Hi John,

thanks for your answer. I have read this elsewhere on this forum (while searching before posting).

Just, please, let me add, that I am also trying to run other (common) apps, found on the HDD, which are "Virtual CD Manager.exe" and "WD SmartWare.exe", but all return the "...error..." message. Though the "...Manager..." is, from the beginning, pretending to be starting - progress bar appears in a pop-up window, but then it stops loading and returns that message, too.

Best


Top 
 Post subject: Willing to Take A Risk?
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:24 pm 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 272
There IS a Linux native way to unlock hard drives (no WINE or free beer involved). However, they really emphasize how dangerous and untested it is, and to use at your own risk.

You go to terminal and use the hdparam program. You specify the "--security-unlock [password here]" parameter. Here is a link to the man page: http://linux.die.net/man/8/hdparm. Ctrl+f for "ATA Security Feature Set" and it will be under there.

So depending how much you value what's on the drive, you may or may not want to try it.

Cheers,
Jake


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:57 pm
Posts: 3
Well, could not install the driver (app) under Win XP. hdparm returns "Permission denied"... :? WD probably makes the most secure HDDs in the universe... :P

Anyway, thanks to all, especially SpawnHappyJake! Perhaps your advice will be helpful to me at some time in the future.

Best to all
rastaman


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 11:08 am 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Posts: 364
Location: Coimbra, Portugal
If it returns permission denied...

Were you root?


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Level 5
Level 5
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:57 am
Posts: 272
*****After typing this whole thing on my iPhone I read the post that asks if the OP was root...GRRRRRRR!!! Why didn't I think of that! *facepalm*

I'd put more effort into getting the first-party app working. Maybe there's a newer version you can download from the manufacturer's website. Does it specifically need 32-bit Windows or specically need 64-bit Windows? Do you need to allow unsigned drivers for it to install? Do you need to manually install the driver via copying it into the drivers folder and making a registy entry?

Then other than the first party app and hdparam, the only thing I can think of now is to replace the password chip with a new "blank" one. That involves a soldering gun and maybe a magnifying glass.

Or you can pay professionals to do the above for you.

But that's all assuming that it's a firmware password (even the hdparam thing was assuming that).

If it's something superficial such as the filesystem (or perhaps even the whole storage area structuring) encrypted to a password, then you can just nuke it, restructure it (i.e. MBR structuring, GPT structuring, etc.), create one or more partitions, and format the partitions, and you'll be good, but you'll lose all your data.

If it's both firmware protected and encryption protected, you could replace the chip AND nuke it and start over, and of course you'll lose your data.

Hope it works out for you.
Cheers,
Jake


Top 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:10 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:06 am
Posts: 1
I-ve found a workaround for this problem, it's no so elegant but it works, you are going to need a virtual machine so what I have is a Windows virtual machine with VirtualBox, I unlock the disk then it appears on Linux and after that you can shutdown the virtual machine and the disk remains attached and working on Linux, if find a better way please let me know :)


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: