WineHQ
Wine Forums

Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help




 Page 1 of 1 [ 22 posts ] 



 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:50 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
Today the patch 5.0.4 came out and as expected im experiencing a few minor bugs. When I enter the map, the marker indicating my position isn't displayed. Also in the character screen I cant really view my toon Image the more i zoom in the lower its pushed down. These aren't really a huge deal but I think its good to recognize them early on. Here's my config.wtf

Code:
SET coresDetected "4"
SET hwDetect "0"
SET gxApi "OpenGL"
SET videoOptionsVersion "5"
SET particleDensity "10"
SET unitDrawDist "300.000000"
SET textureFilteringMode "0"
SET DesktopGamma "1"
SET ffxGlow "0"
SET ffxDeath "0"
SET fullAlpha "1"
SET lodDist "100.000000"
SET SmallCull "0.070000"
SET weatherDensity "0"
SET Sound_EnableEmoteSounds "0"
SET lod "1"
SET ffx "0"
SET alphaLevel "0"
SET environmentDetail "50"
SET Sound_MasterVolume "0.5"
SET targetNearestDistance "80.000000"
SET CombatLogRangeParty "200"
SET CombatLogRangePartyPet "200"
SET CombatLogRangeFriendlyPlayers "200"
SET CombatLogRangeFriendlyPlayersPets "200"
SET CombatLogRangeHostilePlayers "200"
SET CombatLogRangeHostilePlayersPets "200"
SET CombatLogRangeCreature "200"
SET doodadAnim "0"
SET shadowLOD "0"
SET MaxLights "1"
SET mapShadows "0"
SET anisotropic "0"
SET Gamma "1.000000"
SET showGameTips "0"
SET farclip "800"
SET pixelShaders "1"
SET scriptMemory "131072"
SET M2Faster "0"
SET uiScale "0.79999995231628"
SET useUiScale "1"
SET locale "enUS"
SET installLocale "enUS"
SET enterWorld "1"
SET gxWindow "1"
SET gxMaximize "0"
SET mouseSpeed "1"
SET readTOS "1"
SET readEULA "1"
SET accounttype "CT"
SET ChatMusicVolume "0.29999998211861"
SET ChatSoundVolume "0.39999997615814"
SET ChatAmbienceVolume "0.29999998211861"
SET VoiceActivationSensitivity "0.39999997615814"
SET Sound_MusicVolume "0.40000000596046"
SET Sound_AmbienceVolume "0.40000000596046"
SET reflectionMode "0"
SET terrainLodDist "450"
SET wmoLodDist "400"
SET terrainTextureLod "1"
SET worldBaseMip "1"
SET realmName "Lightbringer"
SET gxResolution "800x600"
SET Sound_SFXVolume "0.40000000596046"
SET componentTextureLevel "0"


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 7:30 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/4247145475

Seems to be the same issue im having with the map


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:31 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:41 am
Posts: 2
I can't even get the patch to download. I followed what Blizzard said and even uninstalled and reinstalled and it's doing the same thing, bitching about the agent.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:19 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:02 am
Posts: 6
I tried using Wine 1.5 and this is what I get for a performance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjYHctUx ... e=youtu.be


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:28 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
Poeboy2 wrote:
I tried using Wine 1.5 and this is what I get for a performance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjYHctUx ... e=youtu.be




Switching to opengl fixed most graphics issue, Just switch over in the wtf config.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:28 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
BasedGod wrote:
http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/4247145475

Seems to be the same issue im having with the map



Ah I saw your post earlier and this sounds like an opengl problem now.


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:30 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
RevNitemare wrote:
I can't even get the patch to download. I followed what Blizzard said and even uninstalled and reinstalled and it's doing the same thing, bitching about the agent.


Have you played with the background downloader by unticking the p2p option and retrying the launcher?


Top 
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:38 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:02 am
Posts: 6
Poeboy2 wrote:
I tried using Wine 1.5 and this is what I get for a performance.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjYHctUx ... e=youtu.be


I had forgotten to do the opengl switch, thanks for the reminder. Things are slightly better, but they are still far from perfect. Here is my death knight mounting and riding his horse.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Umk-cxyK ... e=youtu.be


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:56 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:46 am
Posts: 9
RevNitemare wrote:
I can't even get the patch to download. I followed what Blizzard said and even uninstalled and reinstalled and it's doing the same thing, bitching about the agent.


I couldn't install it with PlayOnLinux, it downloaded wine-1.2.

But official Blizzard downloader works with wine-1.5.12 for me. The only problem is with displaying progress. It stays on 0% forever. But after downloading 20Gb the activity stopped, so I killed wine and discovered game is successfully installed.


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:06 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:46 am
Posts: 9
BasedGod wrote:
Switching to opengl fixed most graphics issue, Just switch over in the wtf config.


I experience major artifacts on some locations. I tried
Code:
SET gxApi "opengl"
. Performance substantly improved, artfacts dissapeared, but game crashed as soon as I clicked on mob. I tested this on wine-1.5.12 on a i965 video card under Ubuntu-12.04


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:55 am 
Offline
Level 1
Level 1

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:46 am
Posts: 9
akamaus wrote:

I experience major artifacts on some locations. I tried
Code:
SET gxApi "opengl"
. Performance substantly improved, artfacts dissapeared, but game crashed as soon as I clicked on mob. I tested this on wine-1.5.12 on a i965 video card under Ubuntu-12.04


I found a solution to crashes on OpenGL. Looks like it's a hardware issue specific to Intel videocards.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1799781


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:27 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:16 am
Posts: 1
I had problems updating WOW to the 5.04 patch. I googled for a solution and found a couple. One has been posted in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=16834

I read another solution at the World of Warcraft forums. It was for those that use PlayonLinux to create virtual drives to run MS stuff in linux. Anyhow the suggestion was to upgrade the wine version to 1.5 . I did that, and everything worked. Meaning I was able to update to 5.04.
I then logged into the game, and saw slow loading maps and graphics.
I then went into the WTF config file, and changed from D3d to the opengl.

Then relogged into WOW and everything was good to go. I disabled add-ons until I could update them.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:17 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
Has anyone found a solution to the map issue?


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:23 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
Also, i'm experiencing the black hole issue in certain zones (Most prevalent in the Outlands) its seems to be addressed in the appdb page under tips and tricks, but enabling off screen rendering doesn't fix the problem. And increasing the UI scale makes dressing room graphics more useful (I can see my head now :D) I would switch to d3d, as it fixes the map issue, but I don't even want to get into the other problems introduced when I do that. (Dark screen and textures leaking, pretty much unplayable vs OpenGl)


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:37 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:23 am
Posts: 21
akamaus wrote:
akamaus wrote:

I experience major artifacts on some locations. I tried
Code:
SET gxApi "opengl"
. Performance substantly improved, artfacts dissapeared, but game crashed as soon as I clicked on mob. I tested this on wine-1.5.12 on a i965 video card under Ubuntu-12.04


I found a solution to crashes on OpenGL. Looks like it's a hardware issue specific to Intel videocards.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1799781



Copied into my wtf and relaunched, had to switch some stuff to low and switch back to opengl but performance has seemed to increase dramatically, like hours of twilight performance, I'll report back after i can play for a bit. Still getting the black hole textures though but kanye shrug :lol:


Top 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:23 am
Posts: 2
I too, am missing the map locater, and profile on the character sheet. Basicly, when i press "C", there's no picture of my character. Its not black like some people have reported, just missing the character. Also, the dot which shows where you are on the map "M", is missing. I can still mouse over where it would be, but what a pain!

Wine 1.5.14
nvidia 500 series with latest drivers.

No idea what else to try. :(


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:28 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:24 am
Posts: 1
I can't even get the patch to download


Top 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:23 am
Posts: 2
Launcher seems to have some problems. I launched from terminal "wine Wow.exe -opengl" and then wait... lol. it will eventually work. Or, install to windows then copy into wine folder.

For the map indicator, it DOES show up. But only on certain parts of the map. I'll try to get some screen shots to show what I mean.


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:23 am 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 18
zulquid wrote:
I too, am missing the map locater, and profile on the character sheet. Basicly, when i press "C", there's no picture of my character. Its not black like some people have reported, just missing the character. Also, the dot which shows where you are on the map "M", is missing. I can still mouse over where it would be, but what a pain!


Several people have this issue the dressing room is not working; in the same way the quest window that shows pictures of targets is similarly empty: it displays the background of the panel (correctly), but the animated image is not displayed. I hadn't realised how essential the map cursor is as a gaming feature. Seeing a map is one thing - you can work out where to navigate to - but being unable to quickly assess your current location makes finding things difficult.

These issues only exist when using OpenGL, switching to D3D9 removes them (introducing alternatives issues).

How can we asses if this is a bug in Wine, OpenGL or World of Warcraft?


Top 
 Post Posted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 6:41 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 18
Damn this map / character pane display issue is a World of Warcraft OpneGL mode bug. Feckin' Blizzard!


Top 
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:52 pm 
Offline
Level 2
Level 2

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 18
Raised a ticket and got this response:
Quote:
Hello!

Thank you for reporting this to us. With the info you provided, I was able to verify all 3 issues.
The map issue was actually reported to us already, and we are hoping to have it fixed in the next major patch release.
For the issue with the character and quest displays, I forwarded these to the dev team and hopefully they should be fixed also!

As a note, it seems that the map issue and quest log issue are actually related to each other in some way (and it wouldnt be unreasonable to assume the character window is in there too), as the problem is that the display (map and quest panel) is actually being displayed in front of the map icon and NPC display.
On the map, your icon is (unreliably) visible in some unpopulated map areas, and mousing over your current location will display your name where the icon should be displaying.
On the quest panel, if you are playing in windowed mode and lower the size of the game window, you can at times see parts of the displayed npc become visible as they do a small animation, as part of their model can poke through the display. Changing the size of the window also can affect the visibility of your character on the character screen too.
(Note: I dont expect you to play in a tiny window, I just thought you might find the info interesting :P )

Anyway, thank you again for reporting this, I hope that these are fixed soon, but if you have any other questions or issues, please feel free to contact us again!


Top 
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:48 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:23 am
Posts: 1
Things are slightly better, but they are still far from perfect.


Top 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
 Page 1 of 1 [ 22 posts ] 




Board index » WineHQ » Wine Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: