Video call with QQ or any messenger

Open forum for end-user questions about Wine. Before asking questions, check out the Wiki as a first step.
Forum Rules
babykarma

Video call with QQ or any messenger

Post by babykarma »

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to wine, and am working on QQ or any other messengers in wine.
My environment is : ubuntu 10.04, installed wine 1.1.42, QQ2009. And during my debugging, I also check some source code from latest wine 1.2-rc4.

Although QQ's level is "garbage", but fortunately it works almost fine under wine, including login, text chat, ..... But the video call can only partially work.
I can see my friend's(he's under windows of course) video, while I can't see my preview video, of course he cannot see mine video too.

As a comparison, I run GraphEdt to check what's wrong with video capture and rendering, when I 'use clock', the same thing happens, no video rendering at all, but when I DONOT 'use clock', video rendering works fine.

Then I read the source code and find out one problem(maybe right, maybe wrong), when wine/dlls/qcap/v4l.c send media samples to downstream filters, it do not set any timestamp on it. Thus if I use VideoRenderer as I did in GraphEdt, the video render got wrong start and stop reference time for media sample, and then the synchronisation result will be very strange. So I modify the v4l.c and set proper timestamp on media sample. Good result, even when I 'use clock', the capture+render graph works find in GraphEdt.

But when I turn to QQ, my video capture+preview+encoding graph still seems don't work. Can anyone give me some advice? Thanks a lot in advance.
babykarma

Post by babykarma »

According to msdn:
"Video frames from a preview pin (as opposed to a capture pin) are not time stamped. Because of graph latency, a video frame that is stamped with the capture time will always arrive late at the video renderer. This may cause the renderer to drop frames, in an attempt at quality control."